Families logo

Flannel and leggings

Mom grunge

By Zelda FoxxPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Flannel and leggings
Photo by Євгенія Височина on Unsplash

I have had many styles through out the evolution of me. Currently I am of the middle age trend of the side part, leggings and or skinny jeans. Skinny jeans tend to still have buttons, so I save those for when I am out of clean leggings. Since mid-college, I have taken great strides to try to look pretty, stylish, or nice. I have dressed up my pants with nice tops and put some make up on my face. I had always wanted to look “nice” in high school. I really tried my best, but I had limited fashion sense and limited resources. We often shopped second hand. You can get great things thrift shopping, but not always. I also went to a Catholic all-girls high school, so I wore a uniform every day. I did not have that much of a social life till college, odd boyfriend here or there. I remember one telling me he wished I dressed more like a mannequin in a store we visited. I said, “Are you going to pay for those clothes?”

He was not and I had no money to either. Plus, I really cared extraordinarily little for fashion at the time. Clothes were just clothes. They were something you wore out in public and because of my cop father, I needed to be modest. When I got to college I branched out. My first fashionable purchase were bell bottoms and boot cut jeans. Ironically, my father purchased the bell bottoms for me. I wore those until I had a hole in them. The 70s style came back in the late 90’s early 2000. After my freshman year, which I spent in Minnesota, I came back to Chicago to finish school. I fell back into my grunge style, with a 70’s flair. I also stopped wearing a bra.

My friend at the time, who would become my best friend, got ahold of me, and taught me about fashion and dressing a little more maturely. She showed me the benefits of bras, and more classy tops and the value of boots. This was the early 2000’s so the style was still different then today. As far as I remember, or at least the way I liked it at the time, the style was wearing boots under my jeans. I also still wore my bell bottoms. As time marched on I still tried to have a sense of style but evolved into seeing what trends I liked and adopting some of those, with my own flare. My trends do change over time, but I am not giving up my leggings. So too answer, which trend was comfy, and I want to see again. The answer would be a mixture. The other day I wore leggings with a flannel. I thought I looked quite fashionable, so maybe I will bring a back a trend and turn it into a new one. Mom legging grunge.

Because honestly, I do like fashion now, to a degree, but the fashion must be practical. I have worn nothing with heels in years because my knees have essentially conked out on me. If I wear heels, I risk my knee going out. I will still wear boots, but most of the time I wear slip on sneaker type shoes because I run around a lot at work and have no time to tie my shoes. And flannels are super comfortable, especially the more you wash them. And in true grunge style, you do not have to button them, just put it on top of your favorite T or tank top. I really think it would be fun if they normalized this at work. It would be so nice to not have to wear sleeves on the hotter days. Just take off the flannel and wear a tank top when you’re hot. It is a multi-weather outfit.

When I get home, I often change into something more comfortable, but with this style I would not have to take time to change. I could then spend more time with my kids! This style is a win win. Perfect for going out and at home. There are so many flannels, with tons of different color schemes and styles. Plus, you can easily turn this mom grunge style into western, with a pair of cowboy boots. So yes if I were to bring back a style it would be grunge. And if my only choice to have grunge back is to be true and wear jeans with the flannel, then I will do it, even though I really hate buttons.

parents
1

About the Creator

Zelda Foxx

Mother of two facing a mid life crisis or finally living my dreams of trying to make something of my words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.