Families logo

Ferrari

Story

By kuljit mannPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

Ferrari

Today, Monty was returning home after four years. His mother did not sleep properly last night with excitement. She was so happy, and it rarely happens Right from the morning. Preparations were in full swing. Sometimes turn the sofa here and move the coffee table a little behind the center. She cooked Monty's favorite food, bought his

favorite ice cream, his chocolate. Mom had collected everything, now waiting for the doorbell to ring!

Yesterday we spent the whole day in the yard. We mowed the grass, trimmed the bushes, cut corners.

Now the flower garden was even more beautiful than before, as if it had come from a beauty parlor.

The flower garden was born when Monty was four and a half years old.

It started a year ago, but then many mistakes were made. The wife did not allow those mistakes to happen next year.

That season we started working right in time on the yard. What we did last year is both surprising and embarrassing. We bought vegetable plants from the market and planted saplings. I also watered every day, but I don't know why the plants had not sprouted at all. Only four or five tomatoes looked good all summer. Many have not yet reached the age of youth. Many have gone from childhood to old age. I thought I could not do it alone.

In January this year, we planted the seeds according to the instructions. My wife was growing, and I was amazed. Two days later, the seeds sprouted. I was looking after the upbringing of a mother. I was not only a spectator but also a worker, a mother's worker. Giving water in obedience bringing fertilizer, I used to mix them, but I was not allowed to put them in pots.

Then we got tired, clearing the unwanted weeds from the yard.

We came inside, took a shower, and drinking tea to enjoy our tired happiness.

Our son Monty was playing next to us. He asked me in a low voice, "Can I have a Ferrari?"

I didn't have the answer, but I replied, "Yes, why not?" I use to buy lottery tickets every week. As long as you grow up, we would win the lottery until then."

"True, Dad?" Monty said curiously.

"No, Monty, we're not going to pay for Ferrari with Dad's lottery tickets. We will buy it ourselves."

"How is that?" Said Monty.

"Simple Monty, everybody who bought Ferrari has money. Money comes from Job. Good Job from a good education. I know you will have it; no problem for you. When you graduate and get a big job, we will buy a Ferrari in installments."

The wind was blowing outside. Tiny plants were dancing in the wind.

"What would be you when you grow up?" I asked.

"I don't know, Dad."

"You grow up to be a doctor; doctors make a lot of money."

"No, I don't want to be a doctor."

"Why?"

"I don't know."

"You can be a lawyer or an accountant. They also make a lot of money."

Monty did not respond. He was confused.

He was silent for a while, then got up, went to his mother, and sat down beside her.

It was raining hard outside. The lightning flashed. Clouds roared, and Monty hugged Mom.

"Darling, your plants are gone; your plants can't survive now."

"Nothing happens, honey; nothing happens when the roots of the budding plant take over the ground."

It rained for about 15 minutes, and then the sky cleared.

Monty sat on the neck of his mom, spread his legs around the neck to shoulders, and said, "Get up my Ferrari."

We went outside.

Drops of water are floating on the leaves of tiny plants.

Some drops were falling on the ground, and some were waiting to fall.

Every summer we enjoyed our garden.

I asked my wife this morning, "What is the age of our garden."

"Our garden is four years younger than our Monty."

Today elder brother of our garden is coming after four years.

Wow! What a beautiful flower garden. Dad, you did a great job."

"Tell me one thing, Am I look too smart?"

"Of course, Dad, you are always smart."

"Do you know who makes me smarter?

"Let me guess, my mom?"

"No, your younger brother, make me smarter."

"I don't understand; who is my younger brother?"

"Our garden is your younger brother."

"Oh, great, you are great Dad, I am proud of you."

"Monty, you came home today after four years. This garden was waiting for you."

"Yes, Dad, I did a lot of work last year, and now my project is over. I am getting a Ferrari soon, but Mom will decide the color, model and what to load."

"I did not do much work of the Monty's Garden. You may not remember, it's all about your mother. You love her and me always jealous."

Monty laughed and said, "Dad, I love you too, but Mom is an extraordinary person. She loves nature and friendly with everybody." Sometimes I didn't even listen to you."

"I know Monty, but it's natural; kids always love Mom very much."

"Dad, did I ever make you cry?"

"Yes, Monty, you did it once."

"What, Dad?"

"You were about four years old then. We hadn't planted flowers in the yard yet. You were playing in the living room. Your mother and I were also sitting next to you. I told you, "Let's play a game. You are happy. The game is a quiz you have to solve."

"Next Monday is your birthday, aren't you? This time I will not buy the gift of my choice for you.

Now you have grown up—a full four years. You go with your mom and get your gift. Buy anything. You don't even have to tell Mom. Mom will pay the bill.

We will open your surprise gift on your birthday. We want to know your interest. It will also tell us what you will become when you grow up."

"Dad, I don't remember anything. Did I buy anything?"

"Yes, You bought a gift. After cutting the cake on Monday, you came to me with a gift. You had the whole set of TV show Threes Company in your hand.

You bought a set of my favorite TV shows for your birthday gift. With full of emotions, tears came into my eyes.

Monty took me in his arms and said."Dad, I'm sorry, I made you cry."

immediate family
1

About the Creator

kuljit mann

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.