Families logo

Father's Day

by I. Monique

By Irene Cbiztv WashingtonPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
Like

Father's Day

Baker and Leena hold hands as they walk through the Tate Park Mall. Little Ronald and Tina are just steps in front of them laughing, playing and holding slushies in their small palms. Ronald's lips are red due to cherry dye from the drink.

"Ha Ha Ronnie you got on lipstick!"

"No I don't! Shut up!"

Leena grabs onto the two and kneels down to look into their eyes. That's the look of death that every Mother gives when little rascals need to behave.

"You both quiet down here you understand me?!" she whispers in a stern voice.

After letting them loose they continue to play quietly.

Baker grins, "You are quite a woman. You remind me of my Mom. She did not play!"

They giggle. "Well that's how my Mom taught me. I never thought I could be a mother until the day Robbie was born and i just became one naturally."

"Well kids these days have a poor choice of Mother and Father for that matter. Your kids are blessed."

Baker pulls up to a red and brown house. As soon as the car stops Ronald and Tina jump out of the Lexus and run to the front door.

"Alright baby. I'll see you."

"The sooner the better Leena."

He gives her a long sensual kiss on her lips. The woman can't help but to grin as she exits the car and turns toward the home. She enters the house with a blush still on her face. Evan surprises her at the door. His lips lean toward hers. She turns her head and his mouth lands on her cheek.

She stammers,"Honey you're home. I I wasn't expecting you until 8." "I got off work a bit early babe. Got pizza for the kids!" Robert runs around the house with a slice of pizza in his hand. "Thanks Daddy!" "Boy you better sit down in that kitchen and eat before you bust your head on the wall and choke yourself!" The boy disappears into the kitchen. Evan laughs, "You make everything sound like a catastrophe!" Leena moves in and whispers. "You have to do that to scare them a little. Gets them to stop and think twice."

Leena sips a warm cup of tea in front of the television watching a reality show with Housewives or something. She wears her comfy pajamas while the rest of the family is up to bed. After midnight she sneaks into the master bedroom where she hears the gentle snore of her husband Evan. That sound calmed her because now she knew she had avoided his sexual advances for one more night. Leena slides under the covers in the settlist way with her back facing the man. She shuts her eyes In the next moment they pop open as she feels Evans big hands stroking her backside. She pushes him away.

"Baby come on! How long is this going to be going on?! I want you! It's been months. I I don't get it. What did I do?"

She mumbles, "I've just been tired."

"No, no, don't give me that BULL! You've been shouting that for months! I gave you two beautiful kids a nice home, a car and everything you need plus some things you want! You don't even have to work. You owe me more than just, "I'm Tired!"

"Excuse me but those two kids "we" made together are quite a handful! I'm not just sitting here eating chocolates and watching soaps! Those kids are work times two!"

"I don't doubt that! You are a great mother I don't question that. But there's a disconnect between us."

Leena lowers her tone. "Things just aren't the same. I miss the spark. We used to go out and have fun and you spoiled me."

"If you want something you can use the credit card!"

"It's not money babe it's attention, it's time, it's those stolen moments. We don't have that anymore. It's work and then occasionally you bring home a pizza. I stay with the kids, make sure they get to school and choir practice, sports. We come home and have dinner and that's day after day after day."

"What do you want me to do Leena? I wish I was in my 40's again when we met."

"But I was in my 20's?"

"Is this about age?"

"You're still handsome and sweet. But things have just slowed down alot Evan. I need more."

"Look, Father's Day is coming up. Let's do something really special. Your Mom can take the kids and it will be just the two of us."

"I- I'll think about it."

It's early when Leena wakes up to a text from Baker. Evan has already gone off to work and the kids are getting ready for school.

The text reads:

Morning beautiful. Let's have lunch today and talk about plans for the weekend. There is a nice spot in Miami we can enjoy. Let me know.

After dropping the kids off at school Lena returns home and prepares for her lunch date. All the while she feels a lump in the back of her throat from the conversation she had with her husband Evan the night before.

She enters the Belle Cafe in a red short sleeved dress with a v-neck line and short hem that shows off her full long legs. She smells of Dior, long dark hair rests on her shoulders. Baker's heart drops when he sees her enter the room. He stands and the woman notices. His short dark hair and trimmed beard are immaculate. He's lean but muscular form stands in a fitted shirt and casual dress pants. He takes her waist and kisses her gently. "You are beautiful."

"You are sexy."

They sit at the table and she just looks at him. "What is it baby?" She shakes her head. "I don't want to do this. But I can't help but compare you to him." "Who?" "My husband. He's a good man but, but he's not you." Baker touches her face. "I'm so glad you feel that way. I I didn't think I would fall in love with a married woman. But I did." "I don't know if I can do this. Evan and I talked last night and he's really trying. He wants us to do something this weekend." "But I had plans for us to go to Miami for the weekend." "I know. I know." "Please don't choose him over me baby." "But it's Father's day. I wouldn't feel right about abandoning him on that day. He is a good father and a good man." "So what is it then Leena? Is it me or him?"

The woman returns home after dropping her kids off with her mother. The whole drive home she contemplated what she would do in her head. This was the moment of truth. She would have to choose her husband or her lover. She pulls into the driveway in shock to see Baker's car in front of the house but he wasn't inside. The moments before she enters the front door she hopes not to enter a crime scene. Her husband Evan stands behind the kitchen island. Baker stands on the other side. Leena feels as if she just interrupted something. They both look at her for answers.

"Leena. Who is this man?"

She stammers. Baker interrupts. "Let me introduce myself. I'm Evan Holdstead Jr."

"Excuse me?"

"Evan? No your name is Baker. You told me Baker."

"Leena, Baker is not my real name. First of all I would like to say to your husband that your two children Ronald and Tina are great kids."

"You know my kids?"

"I know your wife. She's wonderful."

"Baker."

"Leena let me finish. It's not Baker. It's Evan."

"That's my name."

"I know. I wanted to see what your life was like now Evan. So I made myself available to run into your current wife."

"What are you talking about?" Leena asks.

"I didn't intend to fall for her. I mean I really love her."

Evan walks up to the young man and pushes him.

"You touched my wife!"

"I love her and she loves me. Tell him Leena."

"It's It's true. We've been seeing eachother."

Evan yells, "Who are you and why are you doing this to me?!"

"I understand why you wouldn't recognize me. See we never met. You left my Mom before I was born. You left her with nothing to fend for herself. But she did it. She raised me. Got me through college. Now I work at a Scientific research firm. Six figures. More than enough to take care of Leena and the kids."

"You dare to try to take my family!"

"If she will have me. I will. Funny thing is that I too am your family. I'm the bastard child you rejected. Like I said I am Evan Holstead Jr." The young man holds out his hand in introduction.

"By the way, Happy Father's Day Dad."

(Original Short (2017) by I. Monique . Do Not Copy. Thank You.)

immediate family
Like

About the Creator

Irene Cbiztv Washington

Life is a story... Let's Write it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.