Families logo

Embers Instead of Christmas Lights

A family got the surprise of their life after losing their home and farm to a fire on Christmas.

By S.C. ClarkPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

The Melvin & the Chipmunks tape was playing while my two brothers, sister, and I ran around the living room with our favorite hen (yes a real chicken inside) named Hanna watching over us like a chaperone.

During this time, my sister and mom came to get us and take us outside, while my big brother Scott ran what had to be a mile to our nearest neighbor to call the fire dept since we did not have a phone that was reliable, and the wall was on fire where it was located.

You see, the house we lived in was old fixer upper. The insulation was newspaper, which is why the fire caught so quickly. Our hen, Hanna, was the reason we were able to eat breakfast thanks to the eggs. Most of the other chickens were taken by coyotes or snakes and we could never catch them, which is why my dad was not inside at the time of the fire.

By the time the fire dept. arrived, the house was fully engulfed, and they had to find my mom as she was not present. She had been running in and out of the house saving all of the family photos, and to this day has them hanging in her living room proudly, like war medals...smoke stains and all.

We were each taken to the hospital to stay overnight for observation. We were safe, save for my windpipe being scarred from smoke inhalation, and my mom with her lungs sore from so much smoke as well. But, after the morning came, reality set in. We were a family of very little, out in the country with a small circle of friends not exactly next door...

What happened next will forever be singed in my mind because it set the foundation of an attitude of gratitude, and a giving spirit in each of us. We got word at the hospital that someone was paying for us to stay at a very nice hotel in town. I remember walking down the long hallway on our way to the room thinking it was what the Queen's carpet must look like, with all the reds and gold patterned designs. And as if the suite paid for by this anonymous doner was not enough, that evening, a giant bag arrived.

When I say giant, I mean it had to be the size of a twin bed... at least it looked this way to my young eyes. We were told to go to sleep, but being a light sleeper, I couldn't. I listenend to every sound and noise in this strange fancy room. Heard my mom and dad crying, whispering...

The morning came and I had forgotten completely about Christmas, but someome did not. We woke up to presents lining the table and desk in the room.

That mysterious giant bag was FULL of toys for each member of our family. They anonymous doner also supplied wrapping paper and gift boxes to allow my parents the chance to make it feel more normal by wrapping the presents for their children themselves.

I received my first pair of rollerblades; pink and white, and I showed them off to the staff at the front desk when zipping down the neverending hallway. To this day, I still have the teddy bear that snores when you clap. His name is lightnening, and he rattles more than snores.

We never found out who the generous doner was, but we were able to learn that it was a member of a neaby church who had heard about our family losing our home to a fire.

Whoever you are, wherever you are... thank you. Thank you for your generous spirit, and open heart during a traumatic time for a family that did not have much to lose. You gave us more than we could have imagined.

Sincerely,

The little girl with curly hair, and shiny new roller blades

humanity
Like

About the Creator

S.C. Clark

Former ghost-writer and blogger for some of the best, now writing my own stories with my own name.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.