Families logo

E.R. Drama

My First Personal Birthing Experience

By Sarah ParishPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
A photo of my hand and a mood ring that displays how I felt, Deep purple!

My doctor decided it would be best to have an inducement the week before my due date if I wanted to avoid a c-section at all costs, which is what I said I did not want. So I had an inducement. Sadly, though, my mom showed up after the birthing event was over. My husband was present for most of the entire time. Naturally he complained that he could not sleep, because the inducement I had took all day to put me into labor and my screaming from pain was very upsetting to him. So I also decided to have an epidural. The birth was so successful to the point that there was no death, and even though live birth is no fun for any mother, I am not here to complain about the contractions during labor. Most of the pain was just turning my spine into a melting bendy straw anyways. I was and am happy enough when it was over and I am not talking about the pain. I am here to tell what the doctors and nurses did and said and how they treated me. My first doctor and all the nurses were great at first. But as soon as the baby was heading down the birthing canal, my doctors' shift ended. The doctor and the entire nurse crew went home and were replaced by a new crew. This crew was not so nearly as delightful. My replaced doctor allowed me to be in any position I wished to lay. My previous nurses were so great they had just put a hot cup of mint tea in the sink for aromatherapy before they left. They spoke to me as if my wish was their command. This all turned around completely when the whole crew shift replaced. The second set of nurses were not so nice. The new doctor was impatient. As soon as the new doctor entered the room, they dumped the still hot mint tea that was in the sink down the drain. The new doctor put a catheter in the way of the opening along with other un-necessary equipment and put my legs up into the air and my head was then lower than any of my other body parts. No one any longer was listening to anything that I was trying to say. I could barely talk, and when I tried to speak a nurse told me to not to. My husband, at that moment had gone to the cafeteria to get coffee, so he didn't hear that sentence spoken to me, neither had the other doctor been present. By the time my husband got back the nurse decided to ask him to grab my leg and push it into my chest as if that were supposed to help me push. I could not push for myself, my body had to do most of it. I had an epidural. My legs were rubber logs. I could not breathe. The nurse had the one leg, my husband had the other leg, and there was no way I could let out a single squeak. I was so angry at that nurse, but I couldn't show it. The doctor returned and had them put my legs back into the cold metal stirrups that I could feel by then because the epidural was wearing out. My husband had no idea whatsoever that he was not exactly helping me out and he completely flipped out after the baby was born because the placenta fell out. He had thought that I had lost some stomach and other important organs or something and that I was going to die. He had not been raised on a goat farm like I had been. He had never witnessed anything give live birth before. He did not know that such a thing as a placenta even existed, I did. Let me tell you those goats had a better experience from me than from my treatment, because that is true. I was able to stand back on my own two feet very shortly after I was done giving live birth. But not before the doctor stitched up the slice they had made to make the opening down there bigger. My son was born after 11:00 am and is turning three soon. I am on my second pregnancy. I hope my experience is educational to any woman whom may want to know, or any caring husbands of theirs.

pregnancy
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Parish

I believe in symbiosis, and that there is a singular dominant God of the universe,

Also, the love poems are dedicated to my husband, and the rest are dedicated to my family!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.