Families logo

Dreams

Sometimes you just can’t fight who you are meant to be.

By Adrii VzPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like

The early sun rays were hitting my face through the blinds, I blinked a few times to get my eyes adjusted to the light. I slowly woke up and made my way to the bathroom so I could start with my morning routine, style my hair and put the clothes that my mom had picked for me the day before.

Today was an important day for my family as we were going to meet with the prestigious career advisor that would help me to pick the perfect college for me, this was supposed to be exciting but I wasn’t looking forward for another day in which other people would take decisions on how I had to live my life after high school, I had had enough of those days in my life.

I styled my hair and took the fancy dress from my closet, I put it on and looked myself in the mirror, I hated the dress because it didn’t look like that reflection was actually me, but I had no choice since my mother told me that as long as I looked perfect nothing else mattered, and I wasn’t in the mood of arguing with her this morning.

I walked down the stairs and was greeted by Dennisse, our housemaid; I really loved her to pieces, she was my confident in everything, I trusted her with my deepest secrets and dreams, in a way that I could never do with my parents or any other friend that I had.

“Good morning Leen, your mother is waiting for you, by the way you look amazing with that dress.” she happily said with a smile on her face.

“Thank you Dennisse, but you know that I hate this dress.” I returned the smile and made my way into the living room where my mom was waiting for me.

“Rosaleen my dear! You look stunning in that dress! You should let me pick your clothes more often.” she smiled and got closer to me with her arms wide open so she could hug me.

“Thanks mom.” I usually would have disagreed with her but I didn’t want to hear one of her speeches about how I needed to change my style.

We went into the dinning room and ate some breakfast while we waited for my father to finish his phone call so we could all leave together for the meeting.

“My girls! You both look beautiful as always” said my dad as he came into the room, he came to me and kissed my forehead. I always felt hard to disagree with my dad because unlike my mom, he used his affection to talk me into doing things like this meeting today instead of yelling at me about how I needed to do something important with my life.

“Oh honey, you are so sweet” my mom said as she stood up and went to kiss my dad.

“Anyways, are we ready to go? We don’t want to be late for the meeting” said my dad looking at us and grabbing his coat.

“Oh yes we are, come on Rosaleen, we don’t need to make a bad impression today” my mom looked at me as if I had done something like that before, that pissed me off to be honest, I had always complied her requests, reluctantly at times, but I had never done something to be ashamed of.

I quickly grabbed my phone from the table and left to get into the car, I couldn’t stand her none sense anymore. Once inside of the car I unlocked my phone and texted my best friend, I really needed to spend some time with her after this awful day, she always knew how to lift my mood and just by seeing how she always followed her heart no matter what people said almost made me feel like I could do the same and be whoever I really wanted to be, not what other people expected or planned for me.

She quickly texted me back and said she would pick me up after my meeting, only the thought of hanging out with her made me feel more prepared to deal with the day ahead of me.

“So my dear Rose, have you thought about any of the careers that we’ve suggested you? I know the advisor will help us with that but if some option has caught your attention we can look more into that one” my dad said with excitement as he sat next to me and the driver started the car.

“No, I haven’t really thought about anything dad” I shyly answered, the truth was that I hadn’t even looked at the long list of majors that my mom and dad thought were perfect for me, but I was pretty sure that most of them involved business, science or technology.

“Don’t worry about it honey, we all were confused about it at some point of our lives, that is the whole point of this meeting” he said before turning his attention back to his phone.

Somehow their words hurt, they hurt because I wasn’t actually confused, my dream was there inside of me, it had always been there but I couldn’t tell me parents, they wanted and had planned this amazing life for me. I had mentioned it once, that I wanted to travel the world and record everything, take photos of everything, I wanted to be a photographer, go on aventures and live my life to the limit; but as soon as I mentioned it they just laughed, my parents said that I was meant to be someone important, that I had to do something greater with my life but didn’t understand that I could be great if I followed my dreams, so I just kept quiet and that is what I’ve been doing this whole time, hiding my true passion even if sometimes I can feel it burning my heart.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.