Families logo

Don't try to capture the perfect photo, capture the moment

Christmas cards always served as one of the best ways to capture all those beautiful moments that you had with your friends and family during the holidays. It was the one thing that you shared with your loved ones and used as the way back to look at the past.

By Let's Discuss Published 3 years ago 3 min read
4

2020 has by far been the worst year for most of us with the Pandemic going on in full flow still in many areas, even after 12 months. Despite these tough times, we still had our friends and family taking our back and helping us get through it together. This is what the spirit of Christmas is all about. And not even 2020 is going to take this spirit away from us.

These tough times didn't really tear us apart, it brought us together. It helped us realize that even in tough times, there are people who are going to help you and to take your back.

Christmas cards always served as one of the best ways to capture all those beautiful moments that you had with your friends and family during the holidays. It was the one thing that you shared with your loved ones and used as the way back to look at the past.

I have always liked Christmas since my childhood when I used to do snow-man and go snow-skating with my brother. Even though my friend group changed, the fun never did.

But in the past 2 years, I was not able to spend my Christmas with my family as I was studying abroad away from my family. They were tough times, but my friends helped me feel like I was staying at home.

We just used to play outdoor games all day and then video games all night. Nothing crazy. But we liked it. It was great. Even though we had fun, I did miss my family. As everyone says, " Nothing feels like family".

This year due to the pandemic, my entire semester took place in online mode. So I was able to spend quality time with my family for the past 8 months, a privilege that I didn't have in the last 2 years. I played with my brother, talked with my family, watching movies together, everything felt nice.

And it's Christmas now. We need a photo that everyone loves, more importantly, a photo where everyone looks good with their eyes open ( trust me, it's tough to get a good photo with many people).

When I look back at our Christmas Card in the past, I remember all the fun things that we did together - skiing, snow fighting, movie night, etc.

These photos bring joy to my heart. Christmas has always been that time of the year when everyone tries to forget their tough times and problems and try to be happy together with the ones they love.

As most of my friends are also in their home due to their colleges being run in online mode, this Christmas turned out to be my ideal Christmas Day. I can spend quality time with them just like in the old times.

When I look back at my family's last Christmas card, P.S. I was not there with them during that time. I see my grandfather holding my little sister who has her head inside a dinosaur statue in the Zoo. Lol, I can feel the fun they had just by seeing the card.

But now, at the start of February 2020, a tragic event happened, My Grandfather passed away due to a Heart Attack. He was there with us last Christmas, but he is not going to be there for this one. I think that was the last photo we took of him. He was a great guy, when I see that photo, all those times when he used to take me on his shoulders to the park, times when he helped with my homework, passed through my head.

So we can't stop or predict the future, just try to enjoy each and every moment you get. This may serve as the best time to revert back to the joy you lost during the pandemic.

Try to see the positive things - Even during a global pandemic, some things never change - your friends, your family, their love.

Christmas Cards doesn't need to be something expensive or something special, it's not the card that counts, it's the fun, joy, and memories behind it that matter. 20 years later, you are not going to remember how much you spent on that but you will remember the joy you had that day just by seeing the card.

Don't try to capture the perfect photo, try to capture the moments.

So I know it's hard, I know these are tough times, but no matter how tough life gets, there will be people to support you. We will get through these tough times together,

I wish you all a Merry Merry Christmas.

Thanks for reading through the article.

Best Wishes,

Charlie

humanity
4

About the Creator

Let's Discuss

Topics related to Technology, Movies and Games.

Subscribe to our Newsletter on https://500ish.substack.com/

My Website - http://www.unbalanced.space/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.