Families logo

don't stress, it's not retention but just a child

not everyone knows how to react to a positive pregnancy test

By Maria Ostasevici Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

26.02.2021

I was 21 years old.

I had been holding back from menstruation for a few days and was just talking to my husband and his sister (jokingly) about the fact that I might be pregnant. I had a pregnancy test somewhere, just in case, and I decided to go to the bathroom to make sure no eye-catching surprises awaited me in the near future.

So I was pretty sure I would see a dash and be able to sleep peacefully this night. Not that I didn't want a child, on the contrary, but I only had 5 months of marriage and everything between the two of us was so beautiful and easy , I was also doing online college, work ...

So, I was kind of preoccupied with a lot of other things, and a child, if you ask me, is a huge responsibility.

I was waiting for the answer to the test, I put it on the special windowsill to be calm and I was talking to my friends on Instagram. After 5 minutes I took the test and I froze. There was a big sea + there, and I couldn't believe it. I began to cry like a small child, with laughter and masked tears. I turned on the music and checked that the bathroom door was locked.

I sent the picture of the test to my best friend, then immediately called my mother. While crying, she didn't understand what had happened, she thought I was arguing with my husband, maybe I broke something or maybe someone died... "Wait, I'll show you," I said. I showed her the test, to which I received only laughter and words full of joy.

And now I remember her words, "You know, my dear, when a woman and a man get married, in most cases the children show up, or you didn't know that?"

I knew it, but I wasn't at all psychologically prepared.

I calmed down, I understood that I reacted a bit stupidly and I was thinking how to announce my husband. I already had a lot of ideas in my head, very different and original. I knew he would be happy, and that annoyed me, because I didn't show an ounce of joy for the first 20 minutes. I went to the bedroom, and he was just finishing up the conversation with his sister.

I don't remember exactly the words he said to me, but the idea was something like "Don't worry, this restraint won't last long anyway. You'll definitely calm down tomorrow or the day after when you know for sure you're not pregnant ".

"Yeah, of course ... I think so," I replied.

I wanted to wait, I really wanted to.

But I was so nervous because he was calm that I couldn't take it anymore. I brought the test and angrily put it in his hand (take my word for it, now I'm ashamed of what I did and I'm really so sorry)

"Congratulations! Now I certainly have no retention, just a child!"

You can't imagine the joy on his face, his eyes simply shone with tears and he hugged me with all his love.

That's the moment I made sure once again "I chose the right man and I will never be sorry, no matter what happens, he will support me".

He kissed me, then kissed my belly and said in his gentle voice, "You keep making me the happiest man in the world."

It was 11 pm, but we have nearby a Tesco working 24/7. He quickly went to the store to take another test, to make sure it wasn't a mistake before we had illusions and hasty ideas. It came with a large bouquet of flowers, 3 more pregnancy tests and lots of chocolates.

Strange probably, but thanks to him I was already so happy that I started to worry "if it will look negative now". I didn't want it to be negative, I was always stroking my belly and hoping it would hit again.

Positive. We both enjoyed and fell asleep talking about our future baby, about the name, the color of the eyes, the hair and our love for this little bean. In the morning I woke up at 6 o'clock and I did another test, which also came out positive. I put it on the nightstand next to the other two and slept peacefully. At almost 7 he woke me up for coffee, again with flowers, chocolate and thousands of belly kisses.

Since then, every day I think only of him, I dream of his appearance and I hope that everything will be fine, and my husband is always by my side, helping and supporting me with whatever I need.

I am now 37 weeks pregnant, and every time I realize that soon I will become a mother I simply cannot stop my tears of happiness. Probably from hormones, or because of my extremely sentimental nature.

It is not a mistake to react to such news differently, not all of us are ready at 22 to become parents. Someone wants to be a parent as early as possible, another may have a career at the forefront (as it was for me). But surely if you have the right partner, he will prove to you that a child is the most beautiful thing that can happen in a family.

I wish you all healthy children and a wonderful family. It all depends on your choice.

pregnancy
Like

About the Creator

Maria Ostasevici

Communication and public relations student, Moldova

Instagram profile: maria.ostasevici;

mother of two awesome Dobermans.

BEST VERSION OF YOURSELF- THAT'S TRULY EPIC

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.