Families logo

Dolly Always!

A New York family in a Southern City

By Serai WilsonPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Look up family say cheese!

For years I knew I wanted children. For years I was a free spirit living in the city of New York. Now, 34 and with three children I can't tell you how wild this ride has been. My husband and I met in 2014 and our lives we're crazy but together filled with adventure, joy, and love. Knowing how we both felt we moved in, sealed the deal, and started our family. We moved to the south Officially in 2017. Today is September 27, 2020, and living in Atlanta has definitely changed us. Now the question is how?

How can two feet beating New Yorkers change in the south?

For one we have become resilient and strong parents. Coming from New York, we never take no for an answer. Being a mother when anyone tells you no and it's going to affect your children, something in your mind snaps lol

Living in the south I have learned to slow down, be more expressive, and when people say hi they are just saying hi lol. I have learned to embrace nature and that nature walks aren't going away anytime soon. Baking isn't the devil and sneakers are more than for show.

As a mother in the south, my children are now three free spirits. Celebrating bugs, playing in dirt , no longer riding the train but riding in the car and having a playlist lol. Life is easier on the weekends but every now and then I do have a withdrawal of Brooklyn and The Meatball Shop. Having three children in the south, I have now learned what it means to have a village. Year after year we have overcome different hurdles, learning to maneuver through COVID, keeping afloat, and virtual learning were our biggest ones. If we were still up north, I feel it might have been worse. I watched the New York news and coming from Brooklyn it was devastating learning about how hard it hit our city. A lot of people, unfortunately, died some of family members and close friends we're affected greatly. Some did not make it to September.

Living in the south we were ok and our children are safe.

I can honestly say it has given us and our children more room to grow. Literally, we have two bedrooms lol

When we first had Aspen (our daughter) we were living in a studio apt. We were paying 1500 and utilities we're not included. Now we pay less and have more but I guess that's the southern way? Don't get me wrong living in the south there have been some moments, where I felt I was different. Areas and people were I knew I wasn't accepted immediately but that's not the whole state.

I can honestly say this has been one of the best decisions we have ever made and, to be honest, we have never looked back!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Serai Wilson

Queens-born Brooklyn loved mom.

Now living in Atlanta, I share my motherhood experiences. In my spare time, I enjoy visiting different places in Atlanta. I sharing them on my blog. All of our family adventures are on Instagram @dollyalways

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.