Families logo

Disrespectful Son Rejects Mom, Lives to Regret It.

Mom teaches Disrespectful Son a Lesson. Never Treat Your Mother Like This...you only get one.

By Lourdes B. GlennPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Photo by Kat J on Unsplash

Ever since I could remember, I hated my mom. She was different to other moms. She only had one eye. I didn't have a dad growing up. It was just me and her.

When she dropped me off at school, everyone would stare at her, so then they began staring at me. It was so humiliating. She got a job cooking at the school and then things got worse.

I stopped going to lunch completely. The kids would bully me, and the older I got, the worse the bullying became. One day after school, I just couldn't take it anymore.

I screamed at her, I told her I hated her.

I couldn't wait to leave home, and eventually the time came to pack my things, and I never look back.

I took jobs here and there, I traveled the world and eventually got married and had kids of my own.

My childhood was over and thankfully my mom's face started to fade from my memory. One evening after dinner, me and the family were playing games, there was so much laughter that that I didn't even hear the knock at the door.

My son opened it and started crying. And that's when I saw my mother standing in the doorway.

Suddenly, all those old feelings came rushing back to me. It seemed like history repeating itself as I saw my son frightened as I once was.

I told her to never come back. And I slammed the door.

I explained everything to my wife that night. I told her how much I was bullied and how I always lived in fear. She took my hand and explained to me that she was still my mother and she loved me.

After weeks of persuasion, I finally decided to visit my mom. The long drive back to my childhood home seemed to be over instantly.

I waited outside the house for a while and then I knocked on the door, but there was no answer.

The neighbor, who I had not seen for so long, recognized me, and in that spot on that doorstep, she broke the news that my mother had died. She let me inside with the spare key, and I sat at my mom's chair.

It was the loudest silence I had ever heard. I spotted a handwritten letter with my name on it and inside it read!.

My dearest son. Not a moment passes when I don't think of you. I'm sorry, I scared your children that night. I just knew it would have been the last time I could see you. But you were very little, you were in a terrible accident. I lost your eye. As a mother, I couldn't stand watching you having to grow up with one eye, so I gave you mine. I was so proud of my son who was seeing a whole new world for me in my place. I never meant to bring you anything other than all the love in my heart. I will always love you.

I'll always be with you. Love well.

I fainted after reading the letter my mother left...Till now I still can't stop regreting the way I treated my own mother when she was alive...I cried every time I think about the past. This is my true life story, Hope you learned a lesson. Thanks for reading.

parents
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.