Families logo

Diamond Baby Set with Blanket, Beanie and Booties Knitting Pattern I Designed for a Friend.

Diamond Baby Set with Blanket, Beanie and Booties Knitting Pattern by NicolaRattleyDesigns.

By Nicola RattleyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Diamond Baby Set with Blanket, Beanie and Booties Knitting Pattern by NicolaRattleyDesigns.

Diamond Baby Set with Blanket, Beanie and Booties Knitting Pattern I Designed for a Friend.

Growing up my mum was always knitting for babies, she would knit preemie beanie and booties for babies who were born early.

I was born early, 2 months to be in fact, I weighed in at 2 Pounds 11 Ounces.

They tell me my head was the size of a tennis ball and I could fit in the palms of their hands.

I believe this is why my mum started knitting and donating all these preemie beanies and booties.

She had to make a lot of my clothing, she actually taught me to knit and sew, for which I am forever grateful.

And then I shortly found out that one of my friends was pregnant, completely unexpected.

I suggested to my partner that I gift her a baby blanket, beanie and bootie set.

Which he loved the idea, so I asked her what her favourite colour is and her favourite animal.

She told me that she loves yellow, and ducks, adores ducks, she has a few in her backyard.

So I set to work.

First was the baby blanket, which I actually used a stitch that comes out looking a lot like little diamonds.

It took a lot of work but it was totally worth it.

Next was the beanie, I decided to stick with the same pattern design to have them all matching, note I had never knitted let alone designed a pattern that decrease with a certain stitch set design.

So obviously I was worried that it wouldn't come out looking right but I was more than happy with it.

I think it came out wonderfully.

And lastly was the booties, or at least they were meant to be last, but I'll get to that after.

For the booties I wanted to keep the bottom of them simple, stocking stitch so I did, however the top part of them that you fold over I decided that is where I would do the diamond area, most people Rib that part.

I think they look just lovely, and I made them a little bit bigger so then they would fit her longer.

Now that was where it was supposed to end..... but didn't.

I decided that since she loved ducks so much I would knit her a little duck toy as well. 

I then went and bought a nice big box, lined it with gift wrap and took it to her.

When she opened it, I swear she was nearly in tears.

She absolutely loved the duck, to be honest I think she might even keep it for herself hehehe.

And all three of them, her, her sister and her mother were all fawning over the set I had knitted for the little unborn girl.

A Few Weeks Later........

The girl was born, my friend named her Aurora and she is gorgeous.

She has her blanket in her cot and even uses it in the pram, the beanie fits her perfectly and like I planned the booties were a little on the bigger side but still fit her so they have room for her little feet to grow.

It has already been a few months now since she had her and oh my god she is big already.

I'm starting to think I may need to already knit her another set, but my mother does always tell me kids grow up fast.

I hope you enjoyed this lovely little story of how I ended up designing this beautiful set and I would love to hear from you to know what you think.

Also don't forget to follow me to keep updated on new posts and patterns to come, as well as tips, ideas and inspiration.

Have a day full of knitting happiness. :D

product review
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.