Families logo

Death

Death of a family member

By Jay CintronPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2

A Death:

On March 18, 2020 I lost someone very important to me. My grandmother who was one of the most important women in my life. She was an amazing woman who helped raise me. She was kind and always thought of others. Whenever we needed something she would be the first person in line to help. She had various health complications.

She had been brought back to life twice and I thought this time she would make it but I was wrong. That day was her last day on earth she had not one or two but five heart attacks. Leading her to be brain dead and doctors telling my family there was nothing they could do. Seeing my mother’s name on my phone I never would’ve imagined that she was going to give me the worst news of my life. I’ve never felt this type of sadness in my life.

I felt like my heart was shattered in millions of pieces and I felt like my world was coming down on me. When I received the phone call my knees felt weak and my heart stopped. I couldn’t believe it, I couldn’t believe that the person I love and that is very dear to me was no longer in this world. At that moment memories of us together just came flashing through my head. Tears running down my cheeks I fell to my knees and I couldn’t speak.

I wasn’t aware what was going on around me I knew I was here but I couldn’t hear anything or anyone around me. The day passed and I flew to my birth place to give her my last goodbye. But we couldn’t give her a proper wake because of the pandemic, I couldn’t even say goodbye or tell her how much I loved her. The day of the funeral came and only three people could be there so Mom made the decision that I would be one of the three to be there.

As we got closer to where she was going to be buried reality had hit me like a slap in the face. I’m no longer going to see her smile or hear her voice. My grandmother was gone she wasn’t going to come back. When I arrived home a couple of days later after spending time with my mother. I broke down and cried for hours sitting on the floor just wondering why life was the way it was. Why is it that the only thing we had certain in life was death?

grief
2

About the Creator

Jay Cintron

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.