Families logo

Dear Daddy

A Letter to My Daddy

By Human HumanPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Dear Daddy,

Thank you for making me your daughter. Even though blood says that I’m not yours you’ve always gone above and beyond to show me that I’m yours. Thank you for giving me your last name. You didn’t have to but you did and for that I’ll always hold on to it. Thank you for always giving and showing me love. Each day of my life you never failed to show me that you love and care for me. I remember those days when I was a little girl and you’d come home from work to shower me with hugs and kisses. You’d tickle me and throw me in the air. You’d pretend to play me like a guitar when we’d listen to crazy music. I remember those days when we’d struggle together to comb out my hair for school. It was frustrating to me but you always made it better when you tried. We’d laugh about it because it was always worse than what I did. I remember you’d make me sit and watch the animal channel with you. Oh how I hated it! But I loved it because it meant that you still wanted to spend time with me. I also remember those shows that you made me watch about the kids who’d invite strangers to their house. Those shows stuck with me because it showed me what not to do. Til this day I’ve still been afraid to meet people on the internet. Each year for Christmas was hard because we never had enough money for many gifts but you always managed to make it the best. Each year I always got a few extra gifts from you. I remember each year on Father’s Day I’d always make you a card. Do you still have them? It’s ok if you don’t. You’ve always treated me like a princess. And I want to say thank you for that. You never made me feel like an outsider and you’ve always been there for me through it all. Whenever I call you’re there on other side of the phone line helping me out. You are a super dad and nothing less. You can get a little crazy sometimes but I know it’s all for the best. I LOVE YOU! And I could never thank you enough but I’ll never stop trying.

Love Always, your princess

Most kids grow up with a mom. It’s not often you hear about single dads. Well my dad was a single dad. The best single dad ever. He struggled and we know it but he never complained or fussed about how hard it was. Just the same as it’s hard for a mother to raise a son, it’s hard for a father to raise a daughter. The panic of your daughters first period cycle. My dad freaked out when he found out that I had just gotten my period for the first time. Neither he nor I knew what to do! Or the day you find out that your daughter is having sex at an early age. The fear of your young daughter bringing home a baby. The standards for raising boys are very different and very sexist. There are so many rules for a girl. Friends, school, curfew, relationships, are all different for a girl than it is for a boy. But my dad, my dad did it all. He handles it quite well. I grew to be confident, ambitious, courageous and spunky with the help of my dad. Even though I was a tomboy and loved to play with my brothers, my dad still taught me to be a lady. He taught me to be humble and to stay true to myself. I wish I had a mom, but I’m more than grateful for my dad!

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.