Families logo

Dealing with Parkinson's

The experience of Falling

By Jim GilesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have been falling for the past year. I ended up in the hospital many times after a fall. I got dizzy and my legs collapsed under me. After falling a lot, I never went out. At first, I thought I had vertigo. In the hospital I had a new neurologist take over my case. He said the falling backwards was caused by my Parkinson's Disease.

He increased my meds for this bad disease. I ended up in the hospital on Thanksgiving. The neurologist gave me a new med for it. I started falling less after that med. I use my cane and my walker at home and the cane every time I go out. I never had it as bad, as I do now.

I follow up with the neurologist in ten days. I am getting better little by little. The hospital uses a wheelchair whenever i go to the car to be picked up. I fell two weeks ago, at the dentist's office. Two men lifted me off the floor and the doctor and nurses came running out. It was a bad experience. The nurse broukgt me to the car in a wheelchair.

I bought a wheelchair for at home. Sometimes the cane isn't enough support for walking. I do most of my shopping online. It is easier and safer. My mom, who is 91, helps me. I have to get better. I hope I do. When I went back to the dentist, he asked how I am doing with the falling. I said I am getting better.

Now, I have a nurse's aid at home and a former beighbor helping me. I will get better. I am hoping I can go to weddings and other social events. Between, covid and the falling, I spend most time at home.

It can be a nightmare. I moved into a ground floor apartment last September. I could't take the stairs anymore. It was a good idea. Sitting around a lot put some weight on me. When I am more active I don't gain as much. I have many doctors now. It is hard to keep up with it all.

Many of my neighbors can't take stairs and move to ground floor places. It really helps. I am getting better each week. I never thought I wouldn"t be able to do stairs at only 67 years old. I am currently working on my PhD and will study computers next month in graduate school at a state university. It is possible to keep going to school online. I enjoy the diversion from my heatlth problems. I will be finished in two or three years.

I am hoping to go to graduation in person. It will be an honor to graduate again, at my age. It is never too late to get another degree. I have been teaching at the college level for over 30 years. Most students study online with covid 19 out there. I am one of them. I am doing much better.

I have been going to school online for the past 8 years. I really enjoy it. I haven't seen a lot of my family in three years. I am looking forward to the next get together. It will be fun. It is nice to see relatives I haven't seen in years. My family has about 100 people. It is good to see them all. It is a very nice family. We don't get together very often. It is great when we do. We don't know how long we will all last.

It keeps me busy and, I forget my problems.

extended family
Like

About the Creator

Jim Giles

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.