Families logo

Daddy's Little Wake Up Call

The day he became a man.

By Yuley BurrowPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
06:00 Alarm Clock By Yuley Burrow

I was approximately 3 years old, and it was 06:00 am eastern time, when my “so-called” dad was getting up to get ready for work. He found me lying on the porch with a bunch of child stuff, as he would have been leaving for work that morning. He then took me into the house and called his mother to babysit.

Me With My "So-Called" Dad by Thomas Bean

The woman I called Mamaw agreed to babysit, and she took me to her house.

Later, “years later,” after talking to my “so-called” mother, my “so-called” dad found out that she had left me there the night before, around 10 or 11 pm eastern time because she had a mental breakdown. Needless to say, she walked completely out of my life for a whole year and claimed she checked herself into a mental institution. When she returned, she said she checked herself into a mental facility for a while because she had taken me to the store with no money, and after I was screaming over a doll I wanted, she slapped me in the face. She also said she did not know where all the other stuff came from because she had only dropped me off with the clothes on my back, and did not have any supplies for me.

Me At 12 By Life Touch

It was not until I was 12 years old that I would find out who left all that stuff for me. It was left by a lady who volunteered at my “so–called” dad’s local church. One of the volunteers told me she helped supply the baby supplies after finding me on the porch asleep. Maybe, things would have been different for me had she called child protective services instead. This was not the only time my “so–called” mother walked out on me, but we’ll get to that later. The day she left me on my “so–called” dad’s doorstep was the same day that I caught her kitchen on fire, and she got evicted from her apartment. See story “Two Fires” for more information on this.

At this point it did not matter if my “so-called” dad was really my dad or not, he had to step up and be a man. He has told me that he got a DNA test that said I’m his; however, I never saw the DNA test results, and I don’t believe either of my “so-called” parents are my real parents at all. I seriously wish I would have asked the church volunteer why she didn’t call child protective services, or the police when she saw me asleep on the porch, but I didn’t. I guess the reason I didn’t ask is because this church donated to me every holiday, when I lived nearby, as a child.

This man did have some moments where he did good for me, however, he also had moments where he was unable to protect me from the rest of the family. When he walked away from his parents, my life was so much better for a little while until they convinced my “so–called“ mother to bring me to visit them, or after his heart attack, when his girlfriend called them to the hospital. We’ll talk about the heart attacks in another story. He got me away from them and what they were doing, and I didn’t understand at the time why, but later in life I would find out. These people loved breaking up families, but again I'll discuss that in another story as well. He even called Child Protective Services when he learned what Mark did to me, on another note I've heard some dedicated parents say “if I was their child they would have killed mark.” For more on this story see “That 5 Year Old Girl You See On The News”.

If you liked this story check out my other work HERE, or please leave a tip.

parents
1

About the Creator

Yuley Burrow

Almost everything I publish is non-fiction, however, I do consider fiction challenges. I asked my fiancé to help me with fictional ideas for the challenges because I'm a non-fiction writer. I am adding more about my life and business.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.