Families logo

Dad, You're My Hero

To say that you're the one who stepped up would be a vast understatement!

By Danielle Elizabeth AndrewsPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
3

I've written this in recognition of my Dad.

Dad, you are my hero. There are no words in which I could ever even begin to express the amount of love I hold in my heart for you; Nor the gratitude for all that you are and all that you've done. You have been my father in every sense of the word for as long as I can remember. You have been there for our family through it all and then some; Always without hesitation.

Lord knows you've had plenty of other relationships (lol Sorry I had to!) and could've chosen to be a father to so many others, but you didn't. And, well, let's be honest here... We all know how much I tried your patience throughout my tween and teen years (Okay, and admittedly probably still do, at times!). Despite that? You chose us. You chose me. Throughout all of these years, you have always chosen us. You have always been there for us and with us. You have blessed us with your presence, been a much-needed ear to vent to, a shoulder to cry on, bestowed words of wisdom, provided a kick in the ass of motivation; And at the end of the day, you've been endlessly dedicated to us, and our families.

You're a man of your word. When you say you'll do something, you'll do it because they are not empty words and, I know that I can always count on you. In a world where far too many people make empty promises, you have been there and not just for me, but also my children, your grandchildren. When you say you'll be there, you are. You have weathered the storms with us and we've supported one another throughout life's trials and tribulations. That is what family does; Well, at least, that's what family is supposed to do. That's what I believed the definition of family to be, thanks to you. The majority of our blood relatives missed the memo on that, but you certainly didn't. You have been there to help me through it. All of it. Whether that meant just simply listening while I vented (Oh, how I have vented endlessly!) or offering advice. You've been there for me and, I love you all the more for it.

When I gave birth to each of my children, I felt incredibly blessed and in awe of them. I loved them unconditionally long before they were ever even born. I would've chosen all three of them regardless of their parentage if it came down to it because I've always believed that I was destined to be their mama. The day I became a mother was the greatest privilege that had ever been bestowed upon me up till that point in my life. That is aside from having you as my Dad. Because I also firmly believe that you were always meant to be my dad. Despite all of the ups and downs in my life, your love has never wavered. I have never questioned it. You have stood by me through everything.

I know that these last several years have tested us in every conceivable manner, but I truly hope that we will have many years of much happier days ahead. Looking back, I hope that somewhere among all of the decades' worth of memories there have been many moments where you've known how truly loved you are and felt as blessed as I have with my own children. We are so blessed to have you in our lives. From the bottom of my heart: I Love You and Thank You. Truly.

~

If you've enjoyed reading this, please consider giving it a "like" by clicking on the ❤️! If you'd like to read more of my writing, be sure to subscribe! Tips and pledges are voluntary, and so greatly appreciated!

I'm also on Medium.

parents
3

About the Creator

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews

An avid reader who also loves writing about all sorts of things (Life, love, family, books, poetry, the world around us).

Follow me on: Twitter and Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.