Families logo

Cosmic Connections

Jenny found a new home

By Lori BuckleyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Jennifur (Jenny)

I bought a beautiful, chocolate Standard Poodle pup for my teenage daughter that had recently moved in with me. She wanted a large dog and we lived in an apartment. I did some research and found that Standard Poodles were the good selection for a large dog in apartment living. My daughter moved out and Jenny, the Standard Poodle became mine.

Everyday, after work, I would take her to the dog park. We both enjoyed it. She would run around like the queen of the park, and play, and I would sit and unwind from work, and engage in small talk with other dog-parkers. We would spend a good two hours at the park and by the time we left, she was tired and we would go back to the house and enjoy the rest of the evening together. I had a large round bed at the time and it became a joke, that I slept in a 'dog bed'.

This after-work ritual lasted for about three years, and then I moved into a small home on a farm and started graduate school. During the day, she would go into a dog run and then, when I got home, I would let her out and take her on walks in the hills behind the home. She got to run around the farm and acclimated really well to it, however, my days got longer and longer in the city with the night classes and studies, and I was less and less available for her except for our dog bed at night.

One morning I got up and was getting ready to go to work and put her outside in the kennel and she pulled back, as if saying, "I can't do this no more; this is not enough". I knew it in my gut too. I was feeling bad that I didn't spend much time with her anymore.

I was in the middle of a graduate program so, I decided to try and find a really good home for her. I did some research and called the Standard Poodle Rescue. About a month later or a bit longer, I got a call and was told about a family that wanted a Standard Poodle and could they come see her. They were a retired FBI family that lived on a ranch.

"Should I keep going and it will get better later down the road", I wondered. They took Jenny home with them. I was so sad. I wasn't going to be able to replace her. She was my person in the evening when I got home. I missed her laying next to me at night.

One evening, more like in the very early morning hours, as I laid there sleeping, I entered into a lucid dream like state. I heard some noise outside and got up to see what it was. A large truck pulling a horse trailer was in the drive way. Jenny ran out to meet me and had a buoyant happy manner about her self. I saw the woman and her husband there and another dog as well. They were talking about their horses. I bent down and held Jenny and could sense she was happy in her new home. She wanted me to know that she was happy.

I opened my eyes and realized I was dreaming, but it was so surreal, that I am confident it was more than a dream. She was my dog-person and she was happy that I found her a good home.

She was beautiful, bright, and very communicative. I really enjoyed her. I am absolutely a Standard Poodle fan now. I see them and think, "they are more than a dog", they have some special intelligence.

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.