Families logo

Cooking Creations

Family Happens In The Kitchen

By Kim MalonePublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

I absolutely love to cook and create new mouth-watering experiences for myself and my family......I have a ridiculous "Pinterest- food folder" with just about every recipe you can think of....minus desserts and sweets. I have never baked much of anything. I stay away from sugar altogether except for my wine (Mommy Juice). I do love to make food from scratch because it's fun, challenging AND I like to know about all of the ingredients in the food that I am eating and feeding to my family.

I love Pinterest because I can look up anything that I don't know how to make...it's an invigorating challenge. Pinterest also gives ALL of the details and sometimes a video.

The worst meal that I ever made was during the first year of my marriage....from a cookbook. The problem with the cookbook was that it assumed that I knew certain things about cooking. However, the reason I owned the book was that I didn't know anything about cooking. I tried to make eggplant lasagna. I epically failed because the directions did not explain that I needed to skin or peel the eggplant. My dogs wouldn't even eat it. It was so bad!

However, I endeavored to do better. I investigated, I learned to overcome my cooking shortcomings by learning more. Once I conquered all.....cooking became a savored family occasion. The best memories I have and created happened in the kitchen. Most of the time, we create our masterpieces and the family gobbles it up...but every now and then we agree to mark the unsavory recipes off the list.

My children and I have even come up with a "mystery dinner day" where we challenge ourselves to take our left-over's in the fridge and create something new out of it. I do my dead level best not to waste any food in my house, because sometimes we all get tired of eating the same thing over and over again. I feel like shedding tears when I have to throw food away. I only see dollar signs in my trashcan.

I have been blessed with five extremely smart children, who are emotionally intelligent and most of all capable of doing anything they put their minds to. They are grown except for my 16-year-old, Christopher- who happens to be an amazing young cook. My oldest son Daniel actually gets paid to cook. I get paid in gratitude and compliments.....if all goes well.

My family has always congregated in the kitchen over food and cooking. The kitchen is truly where the best of my family memories have ever been made in the history of time. This is where we share the juiciest gossip of the day, the boys chase each other around my kitchen island and towel pop each other while I laugh until I cry and video record it all ( I actually created a youtube channel!)....and then we create a yummy dish for all of us to enjoy together.

One of the most important tools in my kitchen is my scissors. I absolutely cannot go without using my scissors in my kitchen every single day...I need my cutting board, my chopping knife, and my scissors just as much as all of the ingredients to make my food. My scissors are one of my most important tools.

I use them to open my food packages, amazon packages (and more) cut up meat, open mail, and cut green onions from the very tiny garden that I manage to keep alive somehow. Green onions are amazing by the way .....I cut the top of them off to use in my meal and they grow back the next day! I use them at least ten times a day if not more.

The kitchen is where my scissors belong but sometimes my tiggy sniggy's (this is a term of endearment for my family) take them off somewhere and I have to go hunt them down because I use them so much, I am totally lost without them. It's worse than when they take the tweezers out of my bathroom that I use to pluck the hairs out of my chin every day.

I love arts and crafts too, but cooking is my passion. Interestingly, I don't use scissors very often when I am doing arts and crafts but I couldn't possibly go without my scissors in my kitchen. The honest truth is, that when I read this challenge...I had trouble coming up with a passion that I have involving scissors....then I had a revelation when I went to make a meal in my kitchen! Making food is a huge creative outlet for me. I use scissors every day and didn't even realize it.

While I have other interests like writing, painting, and doing DYI projects....at the end of the day, cooking truly makes me happy. I get to discover, create, conquer, spend time with my family over a delicious meal that I always use my scissors to create. Every meal that I make is made from scratch out of truly healthy ingredients and with all the love and creativity that I have in my heart for my family. I also love the "props" they give me when the food is yummy to the tummy!

The truth is that cooking is so beautifully, fulfilling to me in so many different ways. It is an outlet, a discovery, a creation. A memory that I get to build and create with my family. Before, after, and during preparation and the glorious response from their taste buds after the food has slid onto their tongues. Grocery shopping is always an adventure....although, I always end up spending more money when any of my children or husband go with me. Nothing new for moms with that comment!

The fruits of my passion to cook include but are not limited to; preparing delicious food for my precious family, I get to serve them and spend time with them through the entire process. I get to teach my little man a skill that will "wow" his future girl and all of his friends....not to mention that he will always be able to cook for himself or his family.

He touches my heart when he creates a meal for me. He once made me fried cheese sticks covered in crushed Doritos......those chips are my one weakness and so are cheese sticks. He knows they are both my favorite. Dessert has never been my downfall. My weakness has always been Dorito chips....or more accurately, CARBS!

My children have grown up watching me eat nacho-cheese-flavored Doritos while scraping each delicious chip out of my container of whipped cream cheese while I am watching TV. I know it sounds crazy, but if I could describe the deliciousness of that combination....it's pretty much sex in the mouth. It was a teenage ritual of mine that I passed down to my kids. (sorry for the rated R comment) Food can have that power and trust me when I tell you that food can be sexy!

My youngest son, Christopher used my kitchen scissors to make those amazing, mouthwatering cheese sticks that I also dipped in Ranch Dressing which is another staple in my diet. He had to cut the mozzarella sticks in half with..... guess what?? My kitchen scissors. Both practical and necessary. They are always there to save the day. I could not possibly create anything in my kitchen without them. All cooking would go on pause and we would have to order Uber Eats/.

Needless to say, my kitchen scissors meet me every day to help me in my cooking endeavors and anything else we need scissors for. #Multitaskboss. I rely on them and they help do the thing that brings me the most joy in life. My scissors have also been there for my family as I just mentioned. My hope is that my passion for cooking, family...precious moments, and amazing kitchen tools will be taken up by my legacy....my amazing, beautiful, smart, and talented children.

Thank you kitchen scissors for being there and helping me make my happiest moments doing what I love most..cooking with my family. Making memories and delicious food. I could not have done it without you. I am truly thankful for the creation of scissors. I am positive that other people use them for all kinds of things. I just love my one thing. More power to scissors and all of their uses!

#cooking #passion #scissors #family #creativity

children
Like

About the Creator

Kim Malone

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.