Families logo

Confession Of A Dad.

A silly dad's confession to his daughter about a cleverly-woven lie.

By Rajaroy Joseph AlphonsePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Confession Of A Dad.
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

I wonder how my life would have turned out, had I not lied to my then three year old daughter.

Her favourite pastime was watching cartoons on our 40-inch television. Me, I was not content with my life or job and so I decided to pursue Garden-Designing. I found an online diploma course but I was short of money by a £300. I sold my television that day. Back then, garden-designing was more important to me, a selfish halfwit, than cartoons.

Later when my daughter found out she burst into tears and her cheeks turned red which I couldn't bear. I was still a selfish halfwit though, and so I lied. I lied to her that the television had gone for a holiday and would be back after a few days. Though she cried a lot at first she made up her mind and she honestly believed that the telly would be coming back home after the holidays. She waited but she would occasionally throw fits of tantrums whenever she remembered it. I promised her that I'd bring back the television on her birthday.

A year passed and she had ultimately forgotten about it, until that special day.

Little did I know that time races against you in every possible way and so her birthday arrived in fashion, more to haunt me. I, still a halfwit, made a terrible mistake by ordering a cake looking like a telly. God knows why I did that. I thought it would cheer her up but it did exactly the opposite. I didn't know that my daughter had almost forgotten about the TV by that time and was having plans for other gifts. However when I brought the cake into the room, she quickly remembered her telly, and her brightly-lit face changed instantly. She didn't cause any tantrum that day while the guests were there but I noticed that her face had shrunk, more like a rose reverse-blooming into a bud. She stopped speaking to me for a few hours. The poor little thing didn't know that her father had quit his studies mid-way and also lost his prime job.

To cheer her up I lied to her for the second time with a cleverly concealed logic, at least that was what I thought.

I told her that the great Telly himself had sent the cake from Greenland and that the Telly had been working with Santa the whole year to prepare for Christmas. Christmas was 10 months away and so that didn't bother me when I lied. Time flew quickly though and Christmas arrived at my doorstep. Also by that time, my debts had doubled and I had already turned from a cheerful Dad into a self-loathing and grumpy person.

It was Christmas Eve as we sat down for dinner. For some unknown reason, but definitely clouded by fear and weakness, I yelled at her, much to the surprise of my wife and my mother. I broke the secret about her beloved Telly, that he would never come back again. I went one step further to warn her that I would not buy her new dresses or gifts for a long time. I left the table and went to sleep with no remorse as I was drunk. In fact I felt relieved that I had taken the massive burden off my chest. It felt really good. What I didn't realize was that I had turned into a monster, the most selfish and the most arrogant of all Dads on the entire planet. The realization hit me hard the next morning. I sat quietly next to my sleeping daughter and my wet eyes were staring at her, with nothing but love and guilt.

She is ten years old now, and I think she is mature enough to accept my apology.

My confession to her, "No, the TELLY didn't go to Greenland. Your half-witted dad sold it for money".

Love you though.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Rajaroy Joseph Alphonse

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.