Families logo

Concerned Parent

I am putting too much stress on you?

By Praia PrincessPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Is it me?

It all seemed like the perfect world. My two little angels seemed to have it all. They play on top elite teams in sports, they participate in various school activities and most importantly they were perfect students. As they started to grow I continued to support them in all their endeavors and stressed the importance of their school work. Over time they start to get a little older and let's just move the story to the present day.

I love my babies more than like itself I have an eight and eleven-year-old. I have always tried to be a positive role model and give them the right to express themselves and enjoy their lives to the fullest as long as they always try their best. It appears though that this year and life experiences have taken a bit of a toll on them and me as a parent.

My youngest was having hard times in reading and I asked her what mommy can do to help and she advised me to pay more attention to her and essentially give her more of my time. A hard pill to swallow as you think you're giving them all and then you realize that maybe you just need to give them more of your undivided attention. Remedy... I take time out of every day to y’all to her about her day. I read with her to stress the importance of reading and in return, I get more love, a better effort from her and overall better results have been coming from school, which makes me proud. It makes even prouder for her to be able to come home and be able to share with me her recent accomplishments.

Ahhhh, joy... if there were only one... but my reality is there are in fact two. My oldest has always been a good communicator and has always tried her best so I thought but recently there is a disconnect. She is very active and involved but maybe she is trying so hard to be perfect that there is too much pressure on her to understand we all need help and it’s ok to ask for it. The attitude is unbearable as any preteen child’s attitude would be. Always been a straight A student and in the beta club and all then all of a sudden the disconnect.

Grades all of a sudden slipping and it appears there is a lack of effort on my part but even worst there is no communication. My child always boasts about what she does right but never expressed when she does wrong. I am not sure if it stems from me as a parent placing too much pressure on my child so she feels there can be no room for error. I only wish I could convey to her I am her biggest fan and believer but most importantly I am here to help. It isn’t often I take the time to ask if help is needed but just assume all is okay because I believed she would let me know if it was not. But it appears she is not affectively communicating with me because she doesn’t want to let me down.

With this being said, I say to you parents... take the time to listen to your children and ask them how they truly feel. Don’t get lost in this world and make them think they need to be perfect. I am going to emphasize to my daughter all these things and give her a hand to let her know I am concerned and here to help. I am letting the anger I felt for the bad grades go and go back to the basics of when she was a baby. She relied on me so much more and I was there for guidance every step of the way. No pressure... more love and support... I’ll let you know the outcome and how it is received and impacts us both in due time...

parents
Like

About the Creator

Praia Princess

An individual trying to be heard in such a big big world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.