Families logo

Comical, Thoughtful, and Faithful

Celebrating my little brother

By Jessica FreebornPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
My "little" brother and me

When my little brother was born, I was less than thrilled. I wanted another little sister, not a little brother. But my attitude could not have been more wrong.

I love my bro, and he is officially turning 18 this month. Wow. Time flies as they say. I am proud of him and the person he is becoming. Is it weird to say that I'd be in his fan club if he had one?

And on this wonderful birthday occasion, I would like to say that my little bro is...

Comical

He's got a great sense of humor. I wrote about my little sister awhile back. She and my bro have a similar sense of humor, which is why their personalities mesh so well on their podcast. They both believe that any moment or interaction could turn into an awesome story later. He's brought home some great ones from his work at the hardware store and at the ice cream stand.

When he tells a story, he takes you on a journey through his thoughts and actions in a way that has you laughing and engaged the whole time. And sometimes he will do things exclusively for comedy. There was this one time when he somehow got a Darth Vader action figure that was about the size of a toddler. So, he created this entire photo journey of taking Darth Vader out for ice cream. Hilarious.

When my bro comes home from a trip or other adventure, you want to be there to hear the stories.

Thoughtful

My bro is both a deep thinker and a considerate person. We've had many deep conversations late at night about life, God, and the world's problems. He's not the sort of person that comes to where he stands on something through ignorance. He thinks through why he believes something.

He's also really considerate when it comes to other people. He thinks through what would be best for someone else. He gets to know people and discovers what they like. For example, he is particularly thoughtful in picking out birthday and Christmas gifts.

He got me two volumes of one of my favorite comic book story arcs (Injustice) for Christmas this year. I hadn't asked for them specifically, but he knew they would be something I would like. And he was right. Then there was the time he got me a Doctor Who bag for my birthday. I had no idea I wanted a bag like that until he got me one. He knows me and the rest of the fam so well.

Faithful

He's the kid you hire on the spot for the job if you're looking for a dependable person. He doesn't believe in half-hearted commitments. He goes all in with whatever he's doing. It makes him a reliable worker and a loyal friend. In the world of hobbies, he has his first-degree black belt because of his years of training and commitment to karate.

He has a strong group of friends that he has spent years investing in. He's shown me how important is is for guys to spend high-quality time together. He and his friends like to game. When I come home and see him with his headset on, I know he's taking time to catch up with friends and talk about life.

If he says he will be somewhere, he'll be there. He's someone I trust to follow through on his word. I'm so thankful he's my bro.

He's not a huge reader, so he doesn't read a whole lot of my stuff. Since it's his birthday, I'll keep this one just over the 600 word count minimum. I love you, bro. Happy birthday. May your day be full of laughter, and may it be the start of your best year yet.

By Nikhita Singhal on Unsplash

Thanks for reading. If you liked what you read, consider subscribing, pledging, leaving a heart, or giving a tip.

If you would like to receive regular updates on my work, please email me at [email protected] and ask to be added to my email list.

Special thanks to my pledgers. You are wonderful!

You can also follow me on Medium.

siblings
3

About the Creator

Jessica Freeborn

Passionate writer that is enthusiastic about writing engaging, compelling content. Excels in breaking down complex concepts into simple terms and connecting with readers through sharing stories and personal experience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.