Families logo

Clumsy Me

always in pain

By Stefani StewartPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Clumsy Me
Photo by Taylor Deas-Melesh on Unsplash

As we pull in the driveway, I say to the two older girls "y'all get him and I will get soso because she’s asleep and y'all will wake her". They get out run inside with him because it is raining. I walk around the car, open the door, step up on the running board, carefully unbuckle her car seat and move her little arms from behind the straps pick her up put her on my shoulder, I go to step down and my left foot slips my right ankle twist as it hits the ground, I can’t grab a thing to help stop the fall, bam hinny hits the ground then my head bounces off the ground as well. Soso raises up sitting on my stomach as I am laying on the ground trying to decide what happened just now. She holds out her hands to the sides as if to say what do I do here, as she looks down at me "uh oh, momma falled!" I can’t hardly move yet my body still in shock so no getting up, I just laugh then she laughs. Here we are both laughing in the rain as I lay on the ground. After a few I decide I must try to get up before someone drives by and thinks I've lost my mind. We roll around and get to my feet, I walk in the door of the house, still laughing and my older child then looks at me, "you fell, didn't you?" She knows her mother well.

The next day I was digging out our Christmas decoration from my storage building and somehow, who knows how but I knocked the printer off onto my foot. It has been almost a month now and my foot is still blue.

See a few years ago it was pouring down rain, I had run into our friend house for something, I do not even remember what now. Anyway, on the way out I really am not sure how I managed it but when my foot hit the step and loud pop occurred and down to the ground I went. My boyfriend and older two girls were waiting in the car and just seen me disappear. Well, I rolled around on the ground a bit in pain, but I was laughing hysterically as they walked up and asked what the heck had happened. He helps me up and because I was covered in mud, he would not let me get in the truck, so I had to walk to the house and change. Hobbled more really. See he did not believe I was truly hurt because of my laughter, but once we made it to the restaurant I was in even more pain and my foot had begun swelling greatly and turning very blue. I finally convince him I need to go to the hospital and sure enough I had broken my ankle. They still laugh about it to this day because he made, we walk on it and didn't believe I had really hurt myself that bad due to my crazy laughter.

Almost a year later to the day my mother had just had the interior in her truck redone and wanted to show me so as I am walking outside to the truck to check it out, I fall. I had found the only hole in the day driveway and it was just enough to make that weak ankle twist and down I went. I scrapped my knee and hand trying to catch myself. I laughed of course, how can one not. It gets ridiculous that someone has this much trouble walking. I had her take me to the ER because it hurt and I just knew I had messed it up yet again.

Then there is the time I fell at McDonald's. I had gone into the play place to retrieve my younger daughter, she’s now 12, but then she was maybe 2. When I stepped out of the play place my knee gave out and we both hit the floor, luckily the floor was made of the soft foam, which is probably why I fell but again I laughed. Later that evening after we got home it was hurting so bad I finally gave up and got my mother to take me to the hospital and I had torn a ligament in my knee and broken my foot!

So, I am certain I will be one of that HELP IVE FALLEN AND CAN’T GET UP FOLKS one day. Just pray for me that I don’t break a hip next.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.