Families logo

Celebrate the Joy of Parenting

What fills your heart with happiness as a mom or dad?

By Dr Deborah M VereenPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Celebrate the Joy of Parenting
Photo by loly galina on Unsplash

Introduction

Life is filled with bad news these days. And the news is devastating and it’s depressing. Anxiety and fear fill the minds of humanity. Conflict at every level continues to breed mistrust.

Despite the worries of our time, there are some things that we do as parents that make our spirit dance and our soul smile.

Focusing on these precious thoughts is like unearthing a buried treasure filled with priceless gifts. Whether it’s giving the gift of our time or sharing other tangible delights with our children regardless of their age, reflecting on the pleasure you provide adds peace to your heart. Sometimes it’s the simple things that you do in your life as a parent that simply makes you smile.

What is it that you love doing for or with your children that brings you happiness?

This Is What I Love Doing For My Daughter

My daughter and I sharing a special moment

From the time my daughter was an infant she becomes extremely irritable when she gets hungry. I even had a conversation with her pediatrician because her mood completely changes when her body needs food. Her doctor informed that a lower blood sugar level that results at the onset of hunger causes this to happen with some people, even children. So, that was my cue to make sure that my daughter always had healthy snacks on hand. This is where my explanation begins.

Memories

When my daughter attended a traditional private school and rode the school bus as a kindergartener, I always made sure that she had an ample supply of snacks for her long school bus ride to and from school. I packing her snack bag each day. Her little lunch bag that I used as her snack bag was filled with a huge assortment of healthy snack bars and packages of treats along with juice boxes.

As the school year progressed, I couldn’t understand why she always ate all of her supplies of snacks that were actually enough to last several days. (I just wanted her to have a lot of choices every day.) I also couldn’t understand why she was hungry when she got home after eating the snacks.

My little girl finally admitted what was happening to her supply of food. An older girl, “who was very nice”, who rode her bus always asked my daughter for her snack bag because she was hungry. My daughter let me know that she was sharing. Despite my daughter’s kind innocence, I made sure her principal stopped her brand of generosity.

As my daughter progressed at school, she preferred purchasing her lunch. However, on the days that she asked me to pack a lunch for a change of pace, I took great pride in doing so. This is what I love doing for my daughter.

It’s Simple, But I Love Doing It

My daughter is cyber-schooled and does not need me to pack her a snack bag or lunch bag every day. However, there are special times when she does.

On days that she attends long athletic training sessions and needs to have lunch, I take great pride in doing what I enjoy doing for her. I love preparing a delicious lunch that I place in an insulated bag that is kept on reserve for these special days.

Just as I initially did when I began organizing an assortment of snacks for my daughter, I make sure I add a delicious variety of healthy foods and beverages for her. Whether it’s a sandwich, casserole, or salad, a main dish is added to the lunch bag. I carefully add small plastic bags filled with fresh fruits and vegetables, too. Juice containers, protein bars, small packages of nuts, dried fruits, and cheese, pickles, and yogurt are among the foods that I add. An occasional cookie or small piece of candy is put in her bag as well. I wrap a straw and plastic eating utensils as needed along with napkins and hand sanitizing wipes, too.

Upon a glance into her filled lunch bag, one would conclude that there was enough food to feed a hungry army. I admit that I always overdo it when I prepare lunch for my daughter. Even though she rarely finishes the food that I place in her lunch bag, it just makes me happy to prepare it for her. I guess doing so has been my way of showering her with an extra dose of motherly love.

I know that a time will come when my daughter will not need me to prepare one of my special lunches for her. Instead, she will prefer to drive to a restaurant and purchase a lunch herself. Or, she will grab a bite to eat at her university campus when she will be away from home. Yes, this time will come. But for now, I will continue to enjoy preparing her lunch bag for her whenever she needs me to.

Again I Ask, What Do You Love Doing For or With Your Children That Brings You Happiness?

By Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Parental joy needs to be shared with others. This is especially true in times like the ones we are currently living in.

No matter how great or how small, be sure to let others read about the special things that you do as a parent that lifts your spirit.

Always remember to share your parenting joy with your children.

If this story delighted your heart, consider sharing it on your social media platforms. Also, please consider adding a tip to help fund my work to increase family engagement in education.

I am also a content creator on YouTube. Be sure to visit my "Ignite Family Engagement" channel to view my videos related to the role of parents in education. Here is the link:

Thank you.

This story was originally published on Medium.com in A Parent Is Born.

parents
1

About the Creator

Dr Deborah M Vereen

As a mom, former family and consumer sciences teacher, and school administrator, I write about parenting, family, and education topics. Visit www.Drdeborahmvereen.com to view my work as a family engagement influencer & my YouTube channel!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.