Families logo

Capturing Life In A Time Capsule

Random items bring back fond memories

By Danell Boyles TeNyenhuis BlackPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Patrick as a teenager - Photo by Danell teNyenhuis Black (author)

---

" To live in hearts we leave behind is not to die."

Thomas Campbell

There is no rule book for handling the belongings of your late husband. I did not think I would be going through his things four and a half years later, but I've done it at my own pace.

Bruce and I combined our households in mid-2019. Moving was stressful, and luckily we have a large garage with room for a lot of boxes. We intended to do a little at a time, and then time got away from us.

I've been holding onto multiple boxes of Patrick's things. I was planning to get them all together and then go through and discard anything meaningless. How do you decide what is meaningless? I decided to consolidate the mementos into one box and save it as a time-capsule available for the girls or their children to look through in the future.

One box was clearly items that Patrick had packed in college, moved home, and possibly never touched again.

I picked up a very worn deck of cards with a University of the Pacific logo and a campus picture on them. I'm positive that we played spades in his dorm room or apartment using those cards. The cards might never be played again, but they could still be handled, and the holder could imagine their father, or possibly their grandfather, holding the same cards.

A cup made of leather with the name Pat on it, filled with pennies. Probably a high school art class project. The pennies could be cashed in for a few bucks. Or they could age in the time capsule, along with the ziplock bag labeled rare coins.

A "guess list" notebook. Used as a sign-in for Patrick's bachelor party. Some of the entries intelligible, most nonsensical. Smiling at the thought of Patrick with his high school friends and cousins. Damian reminding him that he knew me first. John not mentioning that he dated me first.

High school ID cards for each of his years at Hoover High School. A school picture and a snapshot of Patrick running for Sierra Freshman High School.

A book of poems and short stories published in his senior year was also in the box. Contributors include a classmate who is now the CEO of Valley Children's Hospital and another who owns a small publishing company. Patrick had several contributions, including this one about his great-grandmother. Of course, they got his last name wrong!

Biz Nona - Photo courtesy of Danell teNyenhuis Black (author)

There were high school awards, including certificates and plaques. I will possibly add the yearbooks to the time capsule, but they are on the bookshelf for easy access for now.

Cassette tapes are mostly useless now, but they are a record of his musical interests. A picture from his high school prom with his date Heidi. A pair of dice.

My favorite item is a souvenir keychain from Magic Mountain. If you look into it and hold it up to the light, you will see a picture of Patrick and me. I've always loved the picture.

Magic Mountain - Photo courtesy of Danell teNyenhuis Black (author)

There are physical therapy tools to measure range of motion and pain sensation. And there are needles and thread to do minor repairs while away from home.

A Jiminy Cricket figurine.

A butane lighter and a nesting tin cup.

A metal "Honor Carrier" cash box from his days delivering The Fresno Bee. Locked but easy to open with a screwdriver. Inside are various items, including his high school valedictorian medal.

There are various other items that I will leave as surprises for the girls. I realize that I could toss many of the items in the trash. I save them because they meant enough to him that he kept them. And I feel close to him as I look through them.

I also know there are still more mementos in the garage. Some day I will find them all and finish the time capsule. And when I do, I will look through everything again.

---

Originally published at https://www.danellt9.com on December 9, 2020.

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Danell Boyles TeNyenhuis Black

I began writing after my late husband's death in 2016. I created a blog, My Life After Patrick to write about my experience and how I was moving forward. In the five years since then I have finished my Masters in Counseling and remarried.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.