Families logo

Can We Be Sisters Again?

Circle Sister Challenge

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Can We Be Sisters Again?
Photo by Caroline Hernandez on Unsplash

To my sister from the north,

This is the letter that I’ve always wanted to write to you since our falling out. It’s such a shame that we’ve fallen out over a guy. You are a very devout Christian, so I hope through the power of God that you can forgive me, the way I forgive you and that we can restore our sisterhood back to its former glory.

I still remember the day I first met you. It was in an elevator in London. We were going the same direction and you recommended a quirky cafe which I went to. By coincidence we bumped into each other again and we found out we had lots in common like our love for anime, Disney and metal. We had a great time hanging out and seeing Love Bites, an amazing Japanese band that have gone on to be really successful in their native country and internationally.

I still think it was one of the best days of my life. It taught me what the joy of conventions were all about, meeting new people and trying out new things. I still have the bunny and the best friend necklace and keep them in a safe place. If I hadn’t had met you, I think my life would have had a lot less colour in it.

People thought it was weird that I went all the way from Stevenage to get your Pajarmas. Well being so far up North, it would have been hard to do it yourself. I didn’t mind helping you as a friend. People said I shouldn’t have bothered and that you would have never paid me back. I did lose faith, but you kept your promise.

I regret our argument and putting the burden on you through my rants. You were a great listener. I miss you everyday. I know you had the best intentions, and you were only looking out for me. I sometimes wonder if you miss me as much I missed you. We blocked each other, and after I sent you the belated birthday card, I decided to unblock you in case you ever wish to speak to me again.

I do regret the some of the things I said, and the things I did and didn’t do. There’s not a day that goes by when you are not in my thoughts. I came across the Valentine’s card you did for me, and I still have it in my draw. I admit I was angry, we did not always see eye to eye on certain things, but that does not take away the wonderful memories we had together.

Although we no longer talk, you still inspire me everyday with your talent and how you use your talents and passions for the greater good. I love the teamwork you have between you and your mother when you illustrate her books. You are a wonderful singer, I can’t sing in tune, but apparently I’m decent at the karaoke. You are brilliant cook and its through you that I discovered one of my favourite dishes and a love for Persian cooking. a wonderful artist. The love you had for me, and the way you invited me, a stranger you met at a convention inspired me to write one of the best poems I ever written.

I believe in you. I hope there will come a day when we will be sisters again. PS, I hope you enjoyed your birthday card, I know how much you and your mum love Squirtle!

Remember my inbox is always open.

I end this letter with lots of love and virtual hugs and hearts, your sister from the south.

P.S I almost forgot to mention that you’re still one of the best cat mamas in the whole of England!

siblings
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.