Families logo

Bringing Home Cam

In the beginning

By Amy Ryn SmithPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
The homemade video that started a wildfire...............

In the beginning, I started my BringingHomeCam page for a couple of different reasons. At the time, my now 14 year old son was barely 3. His father and I had recently divorced and going through the whole divorce/custody thing was not just upsetting and frustrating, but scary. Now at the time, I was at the top of my game in my career field and still loving every minute of it. I was secure; not only in who I was and where I was going, but financially as well. I was beginning to feel more and more like my old self again, and truly believed things were actually going to be ok. After all, the divorce was both our ideas, no slanderous back-story, and I'd moved only a few miles away into a beautiful new neighborhood with a greenbelt and park, allowing our son to stay in the same school district (when the time came). Incredulous as it was at the time, our custody arrangement was one of the first documented 50/50 splits in our State. Neither of us paid child support to the other (*mistake #1) and we split our time with our young son a week on, a week off. We even had a trade off night during the week so when it was my week, he'd go a night with his dad, and vice-versa. This way, noone went an entire week without seeing each other. I was pleasant still with his parents, agreeable when he had a time date or change, and did nothing to rock this fraigile boat (*mistake #2). So when only months out of signing our papers, you can probably imagine how totally shocked I was to receive more legal paperwork........I mean, weren't we done? Ha....not even close. Now tell me, why on earth, would a father who gets exactly the same thing as far as arrangements go, pays not a cent to his ex, has his son 50%+ of the time, file for a modification of custody? Full custody?! What on earth for???? I mean yea, he said he'd "have our son, no matter what" when we talked about divorcing, but I'd never threatened to take our son away, much less ask for full custody. So what in the hell was going on?? This had to be old paperwork, a typo of sorts, right? I mean, I'll just talk to him, right, and clear up this whole mess.................(*mistake #3)

divorced
1

About the Creator

Amy Ryn Smith

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.