Families logo

Body art challenge

My dragon tattoo

By Karen McConnellPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I got pregnant when I was just 15 years old, by all accounts just a baby myself-now raising a baby. My son and I have lived through very many trials together and in all honesty grew up together with only having 15 years to separate us in age.

We’ve survived his biological father leaving on his third birthday and consequently getting hit by a train losing a leg, my first husband physically abusing both of us, a house fire and ending up homeless, getting out of said abusive marriage, my son put up with me working 5 jobs while putting myself through college to make our lives better (while still trying my hardest to be a decent mom), my ex stealing all my money then calling dhs to try and have my son taken from me ( thanks to my amazing family having my back and coming together to turn back on lights, water, phone, stocking the fridge, etc within an hour of the social worker showing up), finding out I was a widow at my divorce hearing (I wondered why he had stopped harassing me at work and stalking me now I know why -he died), dealing with changing schools 14 times in 12 short years because rent was always being increased to more than we could afford but I wouldn’t subject my child to a “ghetto” type neighborhood, living through the trials and tribulations of a him having sever ADHD and learning to work together and always being each other’s rock.

Through all this, my son loved one thing- and collected them-dragons. He talked about getting a tattoo on his 18th birthday (under 21 needs parental permission in Tennessee), so after hard deliberation I decided he deserved it, but added the caveat... only if I can get a tattoo of my only true loves name at the same time. The only man in my life I know I can trust no matter what, YOU! He agreed. So I set out to design my tattoo. On his 18th birthday, he decided on a very small cross (no dragon go figure) that took about 45 minutes to get done, while the tattoo I designed is the size of my calf and full color and took 12 hours on the table to be completed... we were late to his birthday dinner by 2 hours and the next day my leg hurt so bad I couldn’t walk. (I was also starting a swimming class in college the day after that and had to wrap my leg with plastic wrap so I didn’t have to drop the class. ). To this day, it’s my favorite tattoo. I’m not supposed to tell people this, but the artist who inked me loves my design so much and the fact that I was a cool enough mom to get inked with my so. On his 18th birthday that he only charged me $150 for my tattoo which should have cost over $800.

To my son Matthew you are my first love and the only man I’ll ever fully trust with my heart. I Love You.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.