Families logo

Bisola Opens up About Extreme Struggle While Raising Daughter

The actress gets very honest.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Bisola Aiyeola today is one of Nigeria's top celebrities. After finishing as runner-up on Big Brother Naija, she went on to become a mega actress and musician and has acted in such blockbusters as Picture Perfect, Sugar Rush, and This Lady Called Life.

But things weren't always so rosy for Bisola. During her interview with Taymesan for his Tea With Tay podcast, Bisola opened up about her struggle days while growing up. She also talked about her daughter who she had when she was just 23 and how hard things were for her while raising her. Here's what Bisola said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Bisola on Tea With Tay

Bisola said:

I had Leyla when I was 23. It wasn't the best of times. You know they tell you when a young girl get belle, e dey easy, na lie! It's a bloody lie. Now I want to have a kid but I'm lowkey dreading it because her pregnancy was a tough one. I used to throw up a minimum of 4 times every single day until about 6/7 months. It was so bad that if I had any food - spittle, then bile, then blood would come out. I was the skinniest I have ever been in my life until the last trimester when I started retaining fluid. Her labor was tough, it was three days. I fell into labor Wednesday and had her on Friday at night.

At the time I got pregnant and I found out and I told Leyla's dad, his response was such a huge relief. So the day I told him, he was like "Ah great, we're having a baby." I didn't expect that from him. He used to be such a sweet boyfriend, very sweet. I don't know what went wrong, what happened before the shift came. But he used to be so sweet. And with that response from him, I felt like yeah we were going to take on the world. Then he proposed. We never got married. He proposed but the wedding never happened and then we started having our issues upon issues. After a while I think he got really insecure and it's not like I was even ballin' at the time. Life wasn't good for me. He wasn't very present and that was one of the things we used to fight about. We called off the engagement when my daughter was 2.

There was a time I was feeding my daughter garri. I was feeding my baby garri. Like we will allow the garri soak. We didn't have diapers, we would have to use my momsy's old scarves, her gele, buba and iro, use am do napkin. Then cut polythene bag into X shape and tie so she can use and sleep. This was 2009/2010. She was still a baby not even talking yet. We will wait for the garri to swell, then get like N10 jagu, shake it, mix it inside. Feed her. You will not know that this child it's garri we're feeding her. I'm telling you. God really hid my shame with my daughter.

Her shame was indeed hidden. Bisola's daughter is now 12 years old and both mother and daughter are thriving. Look at life!

Bisola and her daughter

Let me know what you think about this story by leaving a comment on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

children
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.