Families logo

BEST tricks to potty training toddlers - BOYS

Potty Training

By Blogging As A MommyPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Potty Chart made for my son that he put stickers on everytime he used the potty!

I’m not going to lie. When I first started potty training my son, he was only one, and it seemed damn near impossible. He honestly seemed like he had no idea what was going on.

So after he turned two, that was my main goal for him for the year.

I’m going to share with you what worked and what didn’t. I’m going to fill you in on how my 2 year old was potty trained in a week!

I hear the biggest thing people say is you can’t force them. They have to want to. But if that was the case, my son probably wouldn’t have been potty trained until he was a lot older!

Now Karen don’t attack me. I’m not punishing my son or beating him because he has an accident or doesn’t want to use the toilet.

I am helping him WANT to go to the bathroom on his own. I am helping him WANT to get rid of the diapers.

The first step to our success was obvious. He needed a potty seat. He was a little too small to get on the actual toilet by himself so we got him this mini toilet on Amazon. It caught his interest and most importantly he WANTED to use it.

Next, we went to the dollar store and got some art supplies. We made him a potty chart! You can either make your little one or download and print the one I made here.

Go read my actual blog post here- https://bloggingasamommy.wordpress.com/2020/11/11/best-tricks-to-potty-training-toddlers-boys/

On his potty chart, he has a big section for when he makes it to the potty, he gets to put a sticker. EVERY TIME. This made him WANT to keep going. On the bottom was a small spot where he had to put a red X. </p>

It started out that if he didn’t have accidents the whole day then he would get some sort of treat after dinner. Then we moved up to not having accidents for a week and he would get to pick something small from the store. Now I’m going to add, this DIDN’T count for #2s the first week.

We started out by letting him run around naked for the first couple of days and keeping his potty close to where he spends most of his time. I feel like this helped him judge the feeling of having to go better.

At night we started wearing pull-ups instead of diapers and when we went out we put on Goodnights. This made it so he could still pull it up and down by himself.

I feel like the biggest key to all of this is for the first couple of days, reminding them every 30 minutes to an hour that they need to go on their potty if they need to go. You can’t be lazy with it because they will either pee all over your house or stay in diapers until you help them.

Every child is different but my 2 year old was potty trained in a week if not a couple days less.

They have to WANT to do it so help them want it!

how to
Like

About the Creator

Blogging As A Mommy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.