Families logo

Believe in Yourself

No....Matter.....What!

By C~Marie RhodesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo: AB Svensk Filmindustri

One of my all-time favorite bedtime stories would be Pippi Longstocking. Writer Astrid Lindgren wrote this Swedish children's novel. It was published by Rabén & Sjögren in the year 1945. Lingren's daughter, Karin Nyman, was the inspiration for Pippi Longstocking. Her daughter actually invented the name herself. I probably listened to, read, watched this on television, over, and over again. Pippi Longstocking is about a spirited, freckled, red-headed, pig-tailed, fearless, independent, spunky little girl. Pippi lived in a big house that she named, "Villa Villekulla". She lived in this house with her pet monkey named Mr. Nilsson, and a horse, who lived on the porch.

Dr. Eske Wollrad claimed that Lindgren's classic children's novels "have colonial racist stereotypes", (an article from The Guardian published over 9 years ago). In Pippi in the South Seas,

Dr. Eske stated, "the black children throw themselves into the sand in front of the white children in the book," she told German paper the Local. However, in the book, Pippi of the South Seas, Pippi mocked white children for their obsession with the school saying, "If you come across a white child crying you can be pretty sure that the school has either gone up in flames, or that a half-term holiday has broken out, or that the teacher has forgotten to set homework for the children in pluttification," she says. Pippi told tremendous lies by making up stories of her own. She was also extremely strong, so much so, she lifts policemen, and horses with her bare hands.

photo courtesy of Pinterest

Pippi's mother died when she was a baby, and her father, a sea captain, disappeared at sea. Pippi went on many adventures, she would take her friends Annika and Tommy along with her on some of her adventures.

photo courtesy of Pinterest

Like I said before, she was fearless. That's what I loved about Pippi. She was brave, courageous. She lived in her own world where she was safe and happy. She was not afraid to speak out for others or to stand up for herself. That is how I wanted to be. I wanted to be brave and courageous. Just like Pippi. Not worried about anyone or anything. Just making everyone happy along the way.

I loved reading her books! I lived vicariously through Pippi when I was younger, as I was raised in a home where there were no adventures at all. Just torment and sadness. Pippi's books gave me happiness in a world where there was none. Dreams of adventures I could and would go on one day. But mostly, she taught me that I could do anything I wanted. Absolutely anything at all. I did not need to allow fear to engulf me, heartache to overwhelm me, and/or pain, consistent, never-ending pain to keep me from living. I needed that. I wanted and needed Pippi's books a lot!

I currently go indoor rock climbing, ice skating and I am about to attempt what my mother use to do. I am going to run off a cliff and fly! Hmmm maybe, I'll begin with a very small cliff first.

The point is, I do not have to be afraid to be myself at any time. Making others happy does not mean you need to be unhappy. If that's the case, stop concentrating on others, and instead, put all of your energy into yourself. You are as important (if not more) as any and everyone else in this huge, magnificent world. Remember that.

literature
1

About the Creator

C~Marie Rhodes

If you the reader cannot feel anything from my writing, If you cannot connect to the characters, if I have not done that, I have failed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.