Families logo

Becoming a New Dad

It's all about perspective.

By Mark GagnonPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
10
Becoming a New Dad
Photo by Natasha Ivanchikhina on Unsplash

While struggling to keep up with reading as many stories as possible and creating fresh stories of my own, I came across a recent posting by Shirley Belk titled “New Baby Love.” It was a touching article describing how a woman feels from the time she discovers she is pregnant until just after giving birth. In my comment to her, I said that I liked the story, but as it was written from a female point of view, I had a tough time relating to her emotions. Shirley responded by asking what the male point of view would be.

I’m not a touchy-feely kind of guy, well connected with my inner self and all that blah-blah-blah, so I simply left it alone and moved on. At least I tried to move on but wasn’t successful. Why not write something from the male perspective? I have three kids, ten grandkids, and two great-grandchildren, so I think I’m qualified to offer a perspective. My first child was born when I was twenty-three, which puts me in the age group of most first-time parents. Another check in the qualified column. As for being in touch with my emotions, I’ll let my readers let me know how successful I am.

I came home from work after what I thought was a tough day to a wife who was looking both beaming and pensive at the same time. Hard to do, but she had that look down pat. I asked her what was up, expecting to be told her parents were coming over, or she quit her job. She took me by the hand, sat me on the couch, and asked if I was ready to be a dad. Not funny, was my immediate response. The look on her face told me this was not a joke and I better be careful what I do and say next. I wanted to say, how is that possible? You’re supposed to be on the pill. Instead, I leaned over and gave her a kiss, followed by something like, that’s wonderful news.

Later that evening, I had some time to myself. That’s when my mind went into disaster control mode. My thought process looked something like this.

You’re going to be a dad! ….. (I’m not ready for this.)

How did this happen? ….. (You know how, what are you going to do about it? Nothing, of course.)

I’m going to be the best dad ever ….. (I hope it’s not twins.)

I’ll teach him to play baseball.

I’ll teach him to ride a bike.

I’ll teach him to fish. ….. (What if it’s a girl?)

I’ll teach him to change a tire.

I’ll make sure he does well in school.

We’ll build model airplanes together.

I hope I spend enough time with him ….. (I’m going to need a second job.)

I’m going to be a dad! ….. (I hope he’ll be proud of me.)

What if it’s a girl? ….. (I only had a younger brother. What do I know about raising a girl?)

We’re going to be parents. .… (We’re too young for this.)

She would like a girl ….. (I guess I could learn.)

This child will need me ….. (No matter what, I’ll be there.)

I know she’ll want more ….. (Maybe I’ll need three jobs.)

Boy or girl, it doesn’t really matter. I’m going to have someone call me Dad.

I bet she’ll be a great mom!

It’s been a little over fifty years since this took place, but some things remain fresh in your memory forever. In case anyone is wondering, our firstborn and our youngest were girls. My son came in the middle.

children
10

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allenabout a month ago

    High fives to all the great dads out there, obviously you nailed it completely. I love the way you honestly presented your case. Also how you gave voice to another creator's input. Be well.

  • Test2 months ago

    Loved that this stemmed from a convo with another creator. I think you a pretty in touch! Enjoyed the back and forth of the thoughts jarring 🤍

  • Gargie S Anand3 months ago

    This is beautiful! The male perspective is surely explained well in a lovely manner.

  • So how many jobs did you do, two or three? I'm guessing it wasn't easy raising 3 kids, especially if they were close in age gap.

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    This was great!!!! So loved your point of view. I love how committed you were to your wife and the thought of babies. You zoomed past fear and trepidation quite well! I think you felt confident in your abilities. Me, not so much. Thank you for doing this! (Again, you zoomed)

  • Mariann Carroll3 months ago

    This was very sweet from a man perspective. You thought of your wife feelings before responding, that was very sweet and romantic. Love the honesty in this story.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    I think you wrote this with your voice, and yes with the amount of children around you past, present and future, I believe you qualify. I very much enjoyed this Mark.

  • Tina D'Angelo3 months ago

    So, that's what my husband was thinking when he said, "Oh, That's great!" Panic. Hey, it's an emotion, right?

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Mark!! Oh, my heart! This is so touching. Thank you so much for taking the time to write and share this. This is so beautiful. 💓

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.