Families logo

Beauty Queen

It Bloomed Only Once

By Margaret BrennanPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
5

“Darn it! I can’t believe I killed another one.” Mom laughed. “Don’t worry. I’ll try and revive it for you.” I have no idea how she managed it, but she actually resurrected the plant. Its new life didn’t last too long but the plant lived for a few months before it decided it was better off without me.

Mom laughed at my frustration. Mom has a green thumb. She can grow just about anything and everything she touches survives – unless she gives it to me. I, on the other hand, can’t grow weeds. Thank goodness, I don’t have to try. They do very well on their own, much to my husband's dismay.

While growing things aren’t my forte, I still enjoy live plants and flowers. When I was in high school, our science teacher handed each one of us a flowering bulb with written instructions on how to plant, fertilize, and care for it. Each student had been given a different flower with a color photo of what the plant would be – should it survive our amateur attempts at horticulture. My flower was the amaryllis – a big, beautiful, red flower.

With mom’s helpful advice, it grew and by the time of our finals, it was done growing, and presented with a two-foot-tall stalk and boasted three awesome flowers. I was so proud of myself but also knew that if it hadn’t been for mom, this would not have happened. I know this because I’ve tried to grow flowers from seeds and while I may get sprouts, they grow no higher. They wither and die.

I’ve followed the directions, used the proper potting soil, water when the soil feels dry, place the seedlings in the proper amount of sunlight, and transfer them to a larger pot when they’re big enough. Then they’d die! I have yet to figure out what I’m doing wrong.

As l long as it’s just a green plant, I’m usually ok. Make it a plant with a flower and I’m doomed, as are the pretty petals I so eagerly await to see – and usually don’t.

I’d had surgery and a close friend gave me a beautiful purple orchid she thought would brighten my spirits. I thanked her enthusiastically but mentally groaned, “Oh no! I’m going to kill this pretty plant.” I did a few months later. While I researched how to care for orchids, I still managed to do something wrong but again, have no idea what! I went out and bought another one. Within months, the blooms died but so far, I’ve managed to keep the leaves alive crossing my fingers that another flowering stalk will grow.

My son and daughter-in-law gave me a gorgeous white calla lily for Mother’s Day last year. Within a month, it died. Why? Again, no idea! Being desperate, I bought another. I put the plant pot on an area on my front lawn where the lily would be regularly watered using our sprinkling system. The plant would also get the right amount of sun, according to the plant’s instructions. It died. Before my son’s next visit, I purchased yet another one. So, far, it’s still alive but all the flowers have withered and curled into nothing that even resembles a flower.

The father of my other daughter-in-law had given me a Christmas cactus. He used to grow them. I had the plant for two years and finally, it bloomed once – the year my grandson was born. After that, it never bloomed again. I still have the plant, but the pretty magenta flowers refuse to show themselves. I often joke with my daughter-in-law saying that to get the plant to bloom, she needs to get pregnant. That’s what happened the last time, but her reply is always the same, “Sorry, mom, you’re on your own, there!”

The ironic thing is that when I became pregnant with my first child, my mom had given me a plant. Luckily, it isn’t the kind that flowers. It’s just a plant with green leaves. Mom said, “Water it every two weeks with about a half pint of water. As the plant grows, you can increase the water and the size of the plant pot. Keep in the house in a sunny room but not in direct sunlight. This is an amazingly easy plant to keep alive.” Mom was right. I still have that plant – even after 50+ years. Mom would be so proud.

Through the years, I had tried periodically to grow other amaryllis plants but just as I suspected, the inevitable would happen. I’d get a few promising leaves, then they’d wither and die. I tried keeping them outdoors, indoors, in direct sun, in the shade. Whatever the instructions indicated, I followed and still managed to destroy the pretty flower. Even the bulb would wither and die.

And yet, I am determined to try again. The amaryllis is considered a seasonal flower for some reason, so I’ll look online. Maybe I can find a bulb or two I can order and just try again. Mom can reach down from heaven and fill me with the knowledge I need and guide my hands enough to get one to bloom and last for a while.

Maybe the next one won’t bloom only once.

immediate family
5

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 76 year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.