Families logo

Awful but real things about pregnancy that no one told me

what I wanted to know earlier about pregnancy

By Maria Ostasevici Published 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

PREGNANCY . A period as beautiful as it is difficult. At least for me.

I am now 38 weeks pregnant and I can definitely say one thing "I will not miss this period at all".

By no means do I want to convey that I recommend for the women not to give birth. Moreover, I want to describe this with all its aspects, positive and negative. I want women to be psychologically and physically prepared for these 9 months in which they will need more care and rest than usual.

I am 22 years old. I love a healthy lifestyle, I have always made sure that my body looks perfect and every acne causes me an incredibly high state of stress. However, my body has decided to make my life difficult, so every time I drink a glass of champagne or anything that contains alcohol, I wake up in the morning with a few ugly red spots that destroy my mood. Therefore, I have decided that it is worth giving up everything that destroys my body or makes me look destroyed.

However, in February 2021 I received a novelty that turned my world upside down. I'm pregnant. My husband was of course the happiest in the world, unlike me. I immediately began to think about the work I had put in to have the body of my dreams and how destroyed I would be after the birth.

In a few days I reconciled with the idea, and I no longer felt any reason not to enjoy the pregnancy.

However, so far there have been issues that no one has ever told me about and for which I was not really prepared.

1. Depression

I have come across depression many times. This is caused by the excess of free time I have, leaving work. Fatigue, pain, the thought that they may do something wrong or do something that will put the child at risk, all this caused great anxiety. There is nothing wrong and you should not feel guilty if you cry for hours because you feel "confused".

2. Snoring

Strange or not, I never thought this would be a problem for me and my husband. Due to pregnancy, most women suffer from snoring, and in addition to them, the husband also suffers. Not being used to something like this, I wake up every time I feel like snoring, and I haven't had a good night's sleep for a few months.

3. Insomnia

If at the beginning of pregnancy it is not a big problem, already in the 5th month I could not sleep well. Actually, I watch the walls for hours or all night I have to watch series. A lot of thoughts and ideas come up every time I put my head on the pillow, some better ideas, others even create tears and last all night. Also, going to the bathroom extremely often is a cause that does not allow you to have a deep and peaceful sleep.

4. Lack of iron

In my case, that was a big disaster. The low level of papp-a in my body was the reason I was prescribed iron vitamins. These vitamins in turn cause a lot of unwanted consequences, which even more made my life a nightmare.

5. Constipation

It is a consequence of the pregnancy that many women face. In my case, it was caused by iron vitamins. Many women cannot drink them because they end up in a serious condition. I, being obedient, drank them, but my body was filled with toxins and I ended up in a terrible state.

6. Acne all over the body

It is not new that a man's face can tell what this person is consuming. My fast-food husband, instead of helping me eat only salads and goodies during this time, used to order pizza every weekend. (Never eat fast food during pregnancy). All these products will make your pregnancy a real hell. The dough is a product that is difficult to digest, and along with iron vitamins my body was filled with toxins that caused a terrible acne on the face, chest and back.

And acne is a cause of depression for me. Even depression still causes constipation and acne, so it's a closed and dangerous circle. I ended up in the worst condition of my life and no one understood how horrible I felt.

7. The inability to get out of bed

After 5 months, my belly was already huge. Therefore, I could not get out of bed without holding on to something, and the only possible position would be on one side. My stomach feels so heavy that I have a stone, and when I want to move from side to side, I endure some enormous pain.

8. Severe back pain

Whenever I wash the dishes or stand for longer, back pain occurs in the lower area that I can barely stand.

9. Nausea from water

For the first 5 months, I always felt like throwing up after drinking a glass of water. At least, I didn't have morning sickness like other women do.

10. Muscle cramps

With screams I woke up practically every night for 7 months due to muscle cramps. In that case, it would be good for your husband to help you. My husband always felt it when it started to hurt, and in a few seconds he was already massaging my feet in the problem area without asking him, and in many cases, he was even doing it with his eyes closed.

11. Inability to walk or climb stairs

Usually in the morning, when I got out of bed, I felt like I was walking on pieces of glass or stones. My legs were so shattered that tears flowed with every step I took.

12. Highly visible stretch marks

I tried a lot of oils and creams against stretch marks, for 7 months I slowly massaged my belly and thighs to avoid stretch marks. But in vain. I can certainly say that there is no solution to ensure that stretch marks do not appear. If the baby is big, it is impossible to escape without any small crack in the skin.

13. Unexplained cravings

No matter how hard I try, in some cases it's impossible to resist. A few times, I started crying because I wanted donuts (I don't even love sweets) and I couldn't do anything about it. I got dizzy and weak, so I had to eat those sweets.

14. Change of state for no reason

I'm crying now, I'm happy now. For a long time I even sat in bed and cried for no reason. After crying for a few hours, I danced around the house under Frank Sinatra and was the happiest woman in the world. I felt sorry for my husband, who really didn't understand how such a thing was possible and for days he had illusions that something had happened and I definitely have a problem.

15. Water retention

Swollen feet with 2 sizes on slippers, that's how I got. I can't fit any pair of slippers. I noticed this change in the 2nd month of pregnancy, when all my sneakers were squeezing me. Then, due to the severe water retention in the body, I couldn't even wear my favorite slippers. If I stood in the gym for a few hours, while I was tidying up or cooking something in the kitchen, I would end up with swollen feet like a piglet, not a joke. Even if I was simply in stockings in bed, they were still extremely swollen.

A piece of advice that I would like all pregnant women to hear.

Pregnancy is not a disease, it will only last 9 months. Even so, owning one is still beyond the reach of the average person. In your body is born a life, a child, a human. Take care of yourself in the best possible way, eat healthy and take care of your psychological health. Be surrounded only by people who give you positive energy, ignore any stressful situation and annoying people. Do not judge or hate your body, it undergoes wonderful changes and needs your daily care and love. It does not tolerate constipation, in no case do not let your body be full of toxins, this can cause even more serious problems. Stand less, especially if you already have a big belly. You can cause varicose veins or even hemorrhoids, and this will completely destroy your idea of ​​a "beautiful pregnancy".

For 9 months, take care only of yourself and your baby, and let the others help and support you.

pregnancy
Like

About the Creator

Maria Ostasevici

Communication and public relations student, Moldova

Instagram profile: maria.ostasevici;

mother of two awesome Dobermans.

BEST VERSION OF YOURSELF- THAT'S TRULY EPIC

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.