Families logo

Autism is not the end it’s the beginning of a very special journey

My adventures with my Blue bird

By Lisa Kitty Valadez Published about a month ago Updated about a month ago 3 min read

When you have a child that’s autistic you never really know what’s going on inside of their brilliant minds but know its something very special. My blue doesn’t talk much accept to boss me around to get her favorite food request and activities of choice met. She spins much like a ballerina and when I ask blue what do you want to be when you grow up? I assume the reply will be a dancer but to my surprise she says an astronaut , this fills my heart with laughter and curiosity.

These unique people didn’t come to adapt to us they came to bring us into their world, their genius lol. As a parent you often want to protect your child from cruelty from their peers the looks and harsh remarks. When people notice they are different but what’s wrong with being different I ask. Most creatives are different. The creatives that aren’t afraid to stand out. They share with the world their paintings, music, films the list goes on and on. I look at my blue girl and notice she doesn’t even care if people stare or don’t try to talk to her when she’s spinning, singing loud or crying because sounds bother her. She has to be herself no matter what or who’s watching. Don’t we all wish sometimes we could just do or say exactly what we feel at times but we have to keep those things or feelings bottled up inside. People that suffer from depression, most times they never tell anyone what they are going through. In my experience, children with autism have to just be themselves and let go whatever is making them feel discomfort. My daughter continues to teach me new things like how she loves the Japanese language. She changes my phone language from English to Japanese often then I have to figure out how to change it back because I don’t understand Japanese lol I think to myself this child is a prankster!

One day Blue created a video in my phone a full storyline. She made different characters and would you believe she named the characters herself and her sisters names. They were a group called the J Girls, super hero’s - Blugie, Schwadie and Samia and the story also starred a redhead character named Lisa Kitty valadez lol this was supposed to be me. I was so glad she didn’t make my character chubby. I was so amazed I asked my other daughters did they help blue make this video and the answer was no they hadn’t even seen the video We all watched in amazement and she continues to take us by surprise on a regular basis. It is now my goal to keep sharing new stories, languages and new music with her just to see what else grabs her attention. She loves to laugh and I find myself looking for ways to make her laugh by acting like tiger chasing her or even cracking the silliest jokes. When someone doesn’t talk much you often wait to hear what they may say next what enlightenment will you share with me today my blue. I teach her hand games like slide and uno dose eco, all games I played with my friends in the playground when I was a kid. I used to think I wouldn’t be able to share these things with my baby but I was so wrong!

As a parent when you first get this diagnosis it’s scary and can be difficult at times but the journey is so exciting, the ups are truly like a roller coaster.

Don’t hold them back they have Greatness to get to, jump on the ride with them before you miss the fun!

Autism Mom

advicechildren

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    LKVWritten by Lisa Kitty Valadez

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.