Families logo

AT THE PARK

~ Cultural Exchange ~

By Jay KantorPublished 2 years ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
4

Author © Jay Kantor

– Cultural Exchange –

As I sat in my car at the park reading 'James Patterson' enjoying the three-dimensional golden fall, with gorgeous horses passing by, an incredible looking car pulled-up next to me. It was a completely stock 60's Pontiac. I mean you could 'Hate-Driving' and still appreciate that this car was pristine – down to its original hubcaps and thinly lined white-wall tires.

I just had to give the driver a thumbs-up! And I said, "Can you make MY car look like that, too?" He said, "This has been 'spit-shined' for years, your fancy car is too new to get rubbed that hard!" I laughed!

So, here's the "RUB." We started talking about cars. I've had, way over, my share of 'vintage' money-pit costs over the years, so we related. Then, Francisco started telling me all about himself; his story just spewed out in a stream. He's a former gang member. Tats all over (never-ever will I figure this tattoo thing out?) — He was in/out of prison all of his life, "eight years here and more time there," while making a point they were both Federal and State Prisons; as if that were some kind of badge?!

But, he was fascinating to talk to – very diverse! He told me he was unemployed and looking for whatever work he could pick up because he was broke. And, due to his record, it was difficult to get hired. His background pops up on the screen as soon as he applies for any job these days. So, I got out a few bucks and handed it to him to go buy some food.

He really was a victim of his upbringing. He explained sleeping on friends' couches or in his car was not unusual for him; even as a child. His sister kept his spotless car garaged when he was in prison. He just kept on talking. I really am a good listener. I didn't interrupt, make 'judgmental' remarks, or put out any body-grimacing 'tells'. And, he just kept talking (to a total stranger) as if nobody had ever listened to him. Francisco was actually surprised that I did; a shame! 

We spoke mostly in Spanish! He wasn't drunk/high or unclean. Very friendly! You might be thinking? Wasn't I nervous about all of this? Nah!  

Digressing: My friend, Jim O'Brien, and I would often tease back and forth how having (4) years in High School Spanish (recalling teacher Mr. Yorbas' every day greeting "Hola Hombres") and we still didn't speak in complete sentences: I learned, by necessity, at Dad's factories. There was an abundance of Spanish speaking employees, and he wanted 'in-tell' of what was said behind his back - Really! 

I wonder how people in this country, for years, can't speak English. Neighbor, Mrs. Kim, has been here for over (40) years and still only speaks Korean. We often communicate using an electronic interpreter. Since she has a fastidiously kept vegetable garden, while I have flowers, we negotiate trades; a fair exchange.  

Stationed in Japan, I was living off-of the Naval base, and I mostly spoke Japanese with neighbors and shopkeepers. It was not necessary to read or write the language, just everyday conversations were important for me to study and learn; it was a nice way to fit into their community. Although, I could never get used to right wheel drive while driving on the opposite side of the road, so I rode a bike even when it snowed – a frigid experience for a native Southern Californian!  

Japanese neighbor, Mrs. Yong, and I made a deal: I'd teach her English and she'd teach me how to 'WOK' – Well, I still 'Wok' with the best-of-um, but English wasn't working for her – even if we graded on a curve! What a delightful Personality and Chop-Stick-Teacher. Mrs. Yong, Quote: "If you're getting it in your mouth, and not losing a lot of weight, you're doing it right." Seriously!  

It's terrific to interact; aka ~ mingle with people in the community to learn about cultural differences! 

We're all just alike! Values to Cooking—Sometime just different Recipes!

Ooh, so, back to Francisco. He immediately asked me, "What's THIS money for?" I said that I just felt like I wanted to help a little; nothing more! He said, "When in prison, any time someone did something for someone else, there was always a Catch!"

I just said, "I donate to organizations; especially Veterans. Why NOT Francisco?" Francisco asked for my cell number; I declined — I had enough cultural exchanges for (1) day!                                             

 Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, Cal

'Senior' Vocal Author

For Our Kids Someday

grandparents
4

About the Creator

Jay Kantor

Retired: Write for "The Kids Someday"

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    It's amazing how sometimes it's just so much easier opening up to a total stranger rather than someone we know or close to us. Poor Francisco, still a victim of his past, unable to get a job. Also, you're right, it's normal to pick up everyday words from a language when exposed to it enough. Surprising how come your Korean neighbour didn't, lol! This was an enjoyable read!

  • Janet Carpenter12 months ago

    Another great story, Jay! Living in Hawaii, I have enjoyed learning about all the cultural differences of my neighbors, my students, my bosses, my friends...it's like you said, even though we're all different, we're all the same. Plus it's been a lot of fun! I started writing about some of my funnier "misunderstandings" from the past 40+ years...but some "young person" in my local writers group said I was "guilty of cultural misappropriation", even though it was MY person experience and story! So glad I'm old!! Ha!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.