Families logo

Ancestry’s Creative Dilemma

How I put together a challenging project

By Chacha JaramilloPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
4
Ancestry’s Creative Dilemma
Photo by Jess Bailey on Unsplash

I’m here again, laying in bed, watching tv and looking at the ceiling. The fan is not on this time. Kinda cool for the staying of summer. My mind wonders about a project I wanted to do for my son. A legacy for him to keep and proudly show it to his family and why not- his wife’s family. I wanted to write a book where nice, attracting characteristics of an specific area where known, and why not the well known ones. It is going to be something different. A family tree inspired. It didn’t include the usual tree or those plain boring excel type graph format.

My graphic design background made my brain starting to work on it. Piece by piece, little by little, this little map of places snd facts and specifications, are to come to life on this book project.

If we’re to put together our family tree, we can easily gather all these countries:

China

Canada

Spain

Peru

Colombia

Venezuela

Aruba

Panama

Germany

Egypt

Pretty much interesting.

Including places where I worked and places where our sibilinos grew up, study and started a family.

The starting of this project was a bit slow to take off, but once kept rolling was fun.

Each country would have been a chapter, and the most outstanding part of that specific country would have been the divider/marker of that chapter. For example, for Peru, the ‘Tumi’ would’ve been the one that identifies this country. Inside would have names of the sibilinos.

For instance, Colombia would have coffee beans as a divider for the ‘Colombia section’. Another fact included would be something about the school where they attended. The same will apply to the college, or university they attended.

Another section will include their authentic dishes and drinks.

Maybe include a recipe or two. This is still to be debated. Too many to decide amongst all the great recipes.

I have also decided the size of the book. Not too gig, not too small. It has to be a portable size, so when they decide to travel to the country they choose to go, the keep the book for quick reference. It has to be a book that you won’t forget, an interesting book and a notebook. It will have a convenient loop for a handy pen and pockets inside to keep extra notes or last minute jotting.

Oh yes- there will be some extra white pages for keeping the airplane tickets, train, etc tickets. It will contain watercolour sheets for when doing those nature inspired scapes to the open fields when taking that mysterious train ride, or a walk. Or when riding a bike on the country roads.

My dad used to do that. Once a month, on a weekend, he would get on his bike and ride his bike along the countryside. Feeling the warm sun on his cheeks and the warm breeze moving the tall grass on the side roads was what motivated him to take these bike rides. The city was far far away. The city was not attractive as everyone thought it would be. Too noisy, too fast, too convoluted for his organic simple life. He was a simple guy, nothing too much of a picky guy. Live easy, live the freedom Mother Nature gives you’ Dad always said. The less you worry, the longer you live.

Dad worker really hard. He left his mother land for a better future. He had to face the problems of learning a different language. From zero. From nothing. Just what he had on and wishing luck was to smile at him.

And it did. Dad quickly learned the language and soon absorbed, like sponge in water, the customs of the area. A close friend of Dad introduced him to Mom, got married snd had 4 kids. My self, was the only girl in this team. I was the rose in the middle of thorns, sort of saying.

Another special chapter was starting to cook: on my husband side: Colombia.

This chapter was to be having coffee as a feature. My husband grew up at a farm, different way of life, healthier than a living in the city, no pollution, no noise from construction equipment. There, the only noise would be the singing of a bird, or for worse, a thunderstorm, the countryside was heaven for me.

Another great addition would be ‘Aruba’. Yes the sunny happy islands. Venezuela, in his gold era, where Friday everyone celebrated the start of the weekends. Oil made them prosper real quick. They really went riding a roller coaster of problems. Hoping those problems solve. Once again, that country will raise and be what it was before, on their golden times.

Going back to the book, a hard soft to the touch faux leather cover. Found one pretty cool on a web site. Soft to the touch, it had marked on the top right corner ‘Believe’ - right on for my project. A mat black finish complimented by a gold edge. Yes- Craft paper that makes it thicker. No more worries about ink bleed-through. Soft faux leather cover, durable to give a good protection for the inner pages. It has
480 pages black paper, large space for your creative drawing and writing. 
Unique design, retro style - perfect to be your own personal belongings. I love this notebook because she. Closed the edge of the pages looked like gold color. Nice detail.

I traced back as many as I could about my other members of the family. They stopped contacting me because I was too far. I lost contact of more than half of the family. Not even on Facebook. This was my last option. The side of the family that didn’t like my way of living and never trusted I was leaving the country for new life, forgot me for ever. Not even my aunt, that lives 6 blocks away from our house, doesn’t live there anymore. I asked the neighbours on that area, they said she lives there but travels very often to visit his son in the USA.

I felt a link on the chain, was all lost.

One day frustrated and feeling bad because I couldn’t fulfill my son’s promise to know more about his ancestors, I received a Te t from my brother. Little by little I started to put together all the family members I could. The list great to tell you the truth. I learned one side of the family already married lost their spouse and married again. Cool more members for their team.

On my husband side. They faced the same fate. My husband’s mom married another guy many years after her husband passed away. My husband’s family - a total of 14 members, could’ve easily be a soccer team. Wow

I guess the tv joke wasn’t worth it that time. Not a point trying to tell the joke.

(In the old times nobody had a tv, so you can guess how couples got entertained)😊

My husband’s side of the family 13

My side of the family 14 cousins

Ok - lots of work or too tired.

U guess.

Right now, as I’m written this story, my mi d goes to the old times, where all used to get together and have fun.

Healthy and pure fun, where we sang down old songs, jumped the rope.

Played soccer of volleyball, if summer cane upon us, the meeting would be at a close beach, and all sitting down on the warm sand watching the seagulls flying back to the neighbouring island.

The guys would set up a bonfire and cook some sea food for appetizers.

Of course beer was a must for everyone over 18. All the minors in the family were to be treated with big juicy slice of watermelon.

The high bright moon will call for the night. I still remember how bright it was. I could see this wonderful lady had freckles.

extended family
4

About the Creator

Chacha Jaramillo

Nature, music and great food lover. Dreaming of having a blog to help people overcome life’s challenges. Born Latin-Chinese, my stories relate how resilience helps you overcome life’s obstacles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.