Families logo

An open letter to my mom

A letter of thanks to my mother

By Amanda DeGrassePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Dear Mom

I was thinking about who my hometown hero was and the only person I think of was my beautiful mother.

I often wonder, where I would be if I didn’t have you? It is something I don’t ever want to think about. I call you often, I call you for everything, to tell you about my day, then I call you to bitch about something. You and I have a special bond, one like no other. You see, you were mom and dad. You made up for the part that didn’t exist. The part that hurt the most. You taught me to overcome everything. You were a single mother with a severe handicap son and daughter. Nothing stops you, ever. You carried on, you taught me to carry on to. You taught me how to keep on going when it really probably felt impossible for you some days. You never once complained about your situation. When my brother would land in the hospital for weeks or months on end you made the best of it. You took me to important meetings when it came to him, you included me and made sure you knew, I knew what was going on. It was so important to you that I was included. We were a team; we were a team lead by nurses who became family. I cannot recall you ever being negative about the hand you were dealt, you smiled and pushed forward. I am sure you cried alone in the shower or in the dark when nobody was around. You were dealing with such heavy things ALONE. My father was not there for one thing, not one., he left you and us to figure it out on our own. Somehow, I don’t know how, you never said one bad thing about him. If I said something mean or negative about my father, you would always say, “hey he’s still your dad, and you need to be nice.” He wouldn’t show up when he was supposed to visit with us, and you just made the situation so manageable. You would somehow make up for it. You were good at making magic happen when me and my brother were little. You advocated for me all through my school years, I was on an IEP and struggling with math. You watched me crumble because of a stupid state test I was having an issue passing. You stood by me and held me up when I was ready to walk away and just get my GED. You and my papa (your dad) had more faith in me then I had in myself. You took us on vacations and made the best memories. You made Christmas so special for us that I believed in Santa until I was 12. Who can say that- me? Yes, yes, I can. You have instilled “do the right thing” in my brain so hard that I have been able to slowly forgive people and move on. Moving on is hard, and it can be my downfall. We have always been close, and always will be. On the night my brother passed away, our bond grew stronger. I was the one that was there for you, you needed it more. You were caught in the sorrow of losing a child. You were trying to be so strong for me, and I think in same weird way my brother. I watched you try and stand so tall. I was so glad that I had you and you had me in those moments. I have children of my own and you are the same women to them as you were to me. I catch glimpses of you as you were when you were younger when I was little. It makes my heart full. I makes me thankful that my son and daughter get to have you as I did. The sparkle behind your eyes and glow in your skin is something I love to see. I often wonder to myself if we didn’t go through Hell if we would be where we are. You are such a special kind of person. When I look at you, I see courage, kindness, compassion, and love. I hope that I grow into the women you are. I cannot thank you enough for all you have done for me and my brother. I love you mom.

Love Your Daughter

Amanda

Gammy <3

parents
1

About the Creator

Amanda DeGrasse

I love to write short stories. I am a lover of horror, fantasy, space, and Aliens. Writing has always been my outlet and a place to escape from real life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.