Families logo

An Independent Woman

My mom

By Olivia B.Published 4 years ago 3 min read
2

A person who inspires you is someone who has done something so great that it motivates you to do something great too. Everyone has a specific woman in their life, who they look up to because of something they did or what they went through. One of such person in my life is my mom. My mom grew up in the country of Jamaica. During my childhood my mom would tell me stories of her childhood and how her family struggled and how she made it out of that.

My mom is the fourth child out of six kids. During her childhood she had to work in the fields sometimes, instead of going to school. Not such an exciting chilhood, am I right? When my mom went to high school she was apart of the track team which somehow changed her life. Upon finishing a few more months of high school my grandfather told my mom that he couldn’t afford to send her to college. That’s were track and field came in; this sport that my mom loved so much earn her a scholarship to come to the United States and run on the Bethune Cookman University track team. My mom made it from being a kid who couldn’t go to school occasionally to being a successful math teacher in the United States. But, before she became a teacher she had to go through a lot more struggles.

In the year 2004, my mom got pregnant with my sister and I. Yes, she got pregnant with twins, because of that my parents decided to get married, but that did not last even for a year. My parents got separated because my dad did not respect her or paid any attention to his young daughters. My mom decided that she couldn’t do this no longer and left my dad and took her two kids with her too. From then my mom was the only one who too care of us and her family. What I admire most about my mom is her bravery and her independence. She took care of her two daughters and provided for us even though she was just a teacher who did not receive enough pay to take care of two kids and herself on her own. That is what a wonderful mother does. Even with the struggle she knew that she had two kids who depended on her to take care and provide for them, and that’s exactly what she did. My mom taught us that the way to be successful in life is to believe that you can be successful, work hard in school while taking time to have fun. She also taught us to be independent. Never depend on someone to provide for you, work hard in life so that you can provide for yourself.

I choose to write about my mom because she showed me the value of hard work and how it can take you from nothing to something in life. She showed me that there is a time when you need someone to help you and when you don’t, there is a time when things may be hard but if you believe that you can do it or you can do better than what you did in the past, then you will be successful. I just want to say to those of you women who are reading this, is that no matter what in life remember that you are your own person, no one can tell you what you should do or who you should be because you are independent and you are the only person who knows you and knows what is best for you. My mom taught me the value of self and how you should respect and take care of it. Because of what my mom did and went through has inspired me to be a better person in life. She taught me that a woman can only respect herself and love herself to be happy; so I encourage every woman to love and respect themselves.

parents
2

About the Creator

Olivia B.

A passionate writer, who loves talking about health and many other fun topics people find interesting. 😉

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.