Families logo

Adversity Molds You.

The journey of a single mother

By Natalie CassinelliPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
My mother (Middle) 19 years old. Me (left) 4 years old. Younger sister, Crystal, (right) 2 years old

My mother, Blanca Esther Padilla is and always will be my hero. From running away from a physically, mentally and sexually abusive childhood to blindly walking into an abusive marriage, one which she thought would save her and take her far away from her pains and traumas, my mother is certainly the strongest person I know, and I’m not just saying that because she’s my mom. I basically grew up with her. I’ve watched her get her heart broken, beaten to a pulp by my own father, kicked out on the street by her own mother for misunderstandings and clashed communication, and yet she always made us feel safe. I’ve gone to college with her, I’ve witnessed her in her poorest and I’ve witnessed her in her richest, all with 2 daughters, young and alone. She is the definition of optimism and persistence. She taught us respect, and manners but most of all she gave us a kind of depth that I have only found in a small amount of people, far and few between. People who have faced much adversity, God fearing. My mother always gave us the platform to express ourselves and play around with our passions. She gave us the freedom and wealth she yearned for as a child, which I feel is very humbling. There were Christmases that came around where she would gently sit us down and explain to us that she couldn’t get us what we wished for but would try her best to make it a fun and happy Christmas. I always appreciated it, and I always wanted to cry because I knew she meant it and I knew she was alone. I’ve been told that I am wise beyond my years throughout my life and I can only thank her for that. Growing up with a single mother I’ve learned that adversity can do two things; it can either break you, cripple you and direct you to a much darker path or it can mold you and push you to a better future, however the choice is yours. In this case it has pushed us all to a better future, together. With hard work and persistence (even if you’re not the most talented at something) you CAN achieve anything. No amount of heartbreak or adversity can stop you from achieving your wildest dreams, in fact, it is giving you the thick skin you need in order to live this beautiful experience called life, push through trials with grace, love and positivity.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Natalie Cassinelli

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.