Families logo

Adoption Trauma

The untold truth of adoption

By Stephanie AdrianaPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
3
Adoption trauma- told by an adoptee

I want to make it clear that every adoption story is different. Every adoptee faces and deals with different things within their life.

First off- My name is Stephanie Adriana. I am 22 years old and I have a goal. My goal is to be an advocate for other Adoptees, who have had a hard time dealing with their adoption.

Adoption is seen as an amazing act of courage and kindness towards the people who choose to open their arms and adopt a child. I am in no way trying to degrade the choice of adoption. Instead, I am trying to spread light on the traumatic life changes that the adoptee has to go through. Throughout their life without any support or true understanding of what is going on.

I was adopted when I was one year old. From port-au-prince Haiti. Never truly getting to know either of my birth parents, my birth mother realized early on that she was too poor to raise me. I was put into an orphanage where my life was no longer in my birth moms' hands. Any choices made from here until I was 18 would be the government's decision and the parents who adopt me. I was adopted by a family in Canada. This family would not raise me to know my culture, would not raise me to understand adoption trauma, would not raise me to fully understand the racism, I would experience in my lifetime and would not raise me to be in my life forever.

Growing up I dealt with a lot of issues that adoptees deal with, confusion, lying, deceiving, stealing, and anger. At the time of my acting out, I had no clue why I was doing what I was doing. I knew I was angry, mad, and hurt but I never knew what about. I was never told about adoption trauma or attachment issues. Nobody brought me to a therapist. I was never educated in my culture or my past. I was expected to deal with everything all on my own all the time. With some help from my adopters telling me I was a bad person, my siblings (their bio children) don’t like me, my siblings think I'm mean and all I do is hurt people. Just the thought of my adopted family talking about me behind my back with each other instead of reaching out to support and help me to become a better healthier person, destroyed me as a person. It was me against the world. A world I had no say in. Around 15 years old I started getting sexually harassed at my adopters' home. But I was not the victim. Nope, I was blamed for what the harasser was doing. I was reassured many times that I can move out if I don’t like my living situation. (moving out is what I wanted but I couldn't as I did not have the finances to support myself.) Eventually, to make a long story short after damaging many friendships, not getting support for any issues I had dealt with, working on bettering myself and getting on a healthier path, The adopters who chose not to support me for a lot of my life, decided they no longer wanted me in their household. They kicked me out. The only family I had ever known, the only people I really have to call family, who are supposed to love me unconditionally, kicked me out. Within a month, they had taken the only family I had ever known away from me. I made sure people saw me as mentally ill and messed up. Allowed their bio children to treat me as less than a human. Instead of them accepting me, the effort I was/ am making to change, and better myself, they stayed in the past and decided to remind me daily of everything I have ever done wrong in my life. I was told I was running from my problems. When I was really doing good, they made sure to remind me that I still have lots of issues and much to work on. Despite the fact the had not talked to me in a year. Much to their surprise, this did not break me, though I lived in my car in the middle of winter for a few weeks when I was first kicked out, I had a strong support team of friends who would not let me fall through the cracks. I did not drop out of school, I continued working my job. With lots of support, I was able to slowly start taking charge of my own life. The life that had been chosen for me before I was even two.

Starting over is the hardest thing I have ever done. Not knowing if I will be alone for Christmas, my birthday, thanksgiving has eaten me alive. Having only one picture of me as a baby is hard. Not having a mom or dad to go to when I really feel bad is hard. But this was the life I was given. I want to advocate, to help other adoptees not go through this. I want to help them get the support when signs are first shown that they need support. I am in know why perfect. I have a long way to go, to be the best version I can be of myself. But I could never begin my journey if I was not able to take charge of my life.

adoption
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.