Families logo

Adolescent Adventures

The things you never knew

By Katie WestmorelandPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hey Mama, you were on my mind so I thought I'd write you a little something, see what you have been up too lately. I know how much you love getting mail, and packages. You always thought it was the most silly thing about you, how excited you get about mail. Well it turns out you passed that trait down to me. I love sending and receiving mail and packages, makes me happy to send packages to people and surprise them and just excited about getting them for the same reason. It's been so long since I've gotten to see you, and that really sucks something awful. I miss you something awful. I was thinking about growing up, all the places we've been together and all the memories we've made through the years. I was just thinking about back when I was in high school. You always got so involved to help us kids with our projects, and school events. You really inspired my creativity and sparked a flame in me that I know wouldn't be there was it not for you. I enjoy making art so much thanks to you. All the memories I have of the school projects you helped me with. Remember that solar system replica we made? We spray painted all of the planets. I was so proud to take that to school. I felt like the coolest kid.We were always pretty good kids but we had our wild moments. With five of us, and especially when we were all teenagers, my word I still don't know how you did it.. speaking of things unknown, I never told you this story, I bet you will laugh and want to whoop or ground me haha. My senior year after cheerleading one evening, my boyfriend at the time and some of the other football players had an idea to pull a prank on one of our teachers. I went with them down the road to our Park, Ivy Agee Park, after we made a dollar general run... for supplies. They had the great idea to T.P. roll someone's house that missed practice. I guess being the week of Halloween people get a little wild. Well we took all of these packs and rolls, back packs full, rolls of toilet paper just falling out of our arms and backpacks running up the hill to the house. We had to hide behind trees because they were home! Two of the guys said, "okay throw as many as you can before I yell run. Then when I yell run, drop everything and run as fast as you can back to the truck or you get left.. and possibly arrested." haha oh my goodness we threw several rolls then ran as fast as we could. Nick yelling to the driver, "Go,Go, Go get the hell outta here." After I got home that night, you were in the living room, you said "Hey baby did you have a good practice and have fun?" and not even 15 minutes after the "Toilet Paper Crime" I already almost outted myself. We had swore an oath to secrecy between all of us kids. Not a soul was to know. We could never tell anyone or admit it.. and after you asked me, I opened my mouth immediately finding myself ready to say the words, "Yeah! Mom we just T.P'd a house.. I quickly realized that and that it would've resulted in me getting grounded.. My heart was racing so fast. No one ever found out to this day who was involved. I hope that story made you smile and maybe laugh a little. I miss you everyday!

Sending Love and positivity.

Your Daughter,

Katie Nicole

immediate family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.