Families logo

A Winning Mom

(Raised By The Best)

By Jah-Ví da Poet Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

One of my favorite memories of my mother is watching her win the Tri-Cities Badminton Mixed Doubles Championship held at a local high school gymnasium in Richland, Tri-Cities, Washington back in the late 1980s. The tourney placed her and a partner in about 6 matches total before they eventually defeated all their opponents by demonstrating excellent athleticism, skill, and focus to bring home winners' trophies🏆🏆. As a single, young widowed mother of two boys after my father passed away in 1985 when I was seven years old, she was barely in her 30s. We looked to "Mom" to take us to the local school playground where we would shoot hoops, playing favorited and introductory skill games like "21", H-O-R-S-E- and P-I-G to improve our game and shooting. Our mother would exhibit patience when we were whiney and accusing each other of cheating, encouragement and confidence if unsure about our abilities and would dole out discipline for bad grades or if we clowned around or got in trouble at school, operating in both roles for us as Dad (masculine energy/lawgiver) and Mom (feminine energy/nurturer) for a while. She has always been there for me and my siblings over the years- both Before and After being widowed young. I remember her winning the Badminton tournament as a shining moment that signified her perseverance despite the tragedy our family had recently endured that took my father away by a trucking accident. My mother was and is a winner, she never neglected us as kids, did not get caught up in a toxic partying lifestyle (not even in the 1980s - 90s); showing us 4- including my sister by marriage, an example of faith, dedication, community service, and responsibility. She was my very first Sunday School teacher at church while always remaining a career woman, gainfully employed to this day. She and my stepfather are known locally for giving back by being people of prayer and volunteering their time, food, and resources at homeless shelters in their town.

In respect and admiration of her resolve, highlighted around the time of the badminton* tournament when she was forced in a role as the sole family breadwinner before remarrying, and in due honor on Mother's Day, I am compelled to write this tribute. Mom always kept in great shape as well; I remember her teaching us to do calisthenic exercises on the living room floor when I was in grade school. After birthing 3 children I still can see her working out vigorously to get her fitness up to par, while always encouraging us in school to get good grades so her 3 boys could play and excel in athletic team sports, which also helped us develop good character. My basketball teams won the league championship in 4th, 5th, and 7th grades, with a church rec league title as an adult and a 2nd place finish the following year in 2000. My middle brother was the star goalie on his 6th-grade championship soccer team getting offers to play on all-star teams in middle school, could also shoot the lights out beyond the 3 point line in basketball. He's a hulking size today and keeps in good shape, looks great every time I see him for 30+ years. My baby bro. was a naturally talented gymnast, is a current dancer, model, and specimen of fitness. I myself am not a slouch either, I love to lift my own bodyweight and some tell me I am in amazing shape, especially being past 40; all us children she raised are blessed to be in decent physical condition, to say the least, with great thanks to my Shero who operates a fitness and wellness vlog online and from whom I buy my vitamin supplements from regularly- my beloved mother who set the standard for health and valuing ourselves early.

My thoughts while looking on from the crowd in her championship moment that day in the Richland High Bombers' Gym, was how proud I was of her and how much she deserved it!

*(Badminton is a sport similar to tennis & racquetball using a birdie to hit with a tennis racket 🏸, instead of a ball)

parents
Like

About the Creator

Jah-Ví da Poet

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.