Families logo

A Teen Mom Christmas

Holiday Hijinks

By hayleyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

December 17th

The cold December wind whistled outside of the bathroom window, my legs were shaking anxiously while my heart was pounding in my ears. Looking over, I saw the two pink lines cover the canvas. My breath caught in my throat, suffocating me. Grabbing the test, I quickly tied it up in a plastic grocery bag, knowing it would forever be stuck in the back of my closet.

December 18th

Walking into school, I felt as if everyone's eyes were on me, quickly sitting, I kept my head down.

"Hey, you okay?" I turned to see my best friend sitting next to me.

Trying to speak, my tongue was tied, so I just nodded.

"You can't lie to me, I know you. Tell me what's wrong." Rachel so badly wanted me to let her into my deep sea of thoughts.

"Okay... I'll tell you but only if you promise you won't say anything." My voice was shaky.

"Of course, I'd never do that to you." She put her hand on mine.

"I'm pregnant." I whispered.

"Haha very funny, come on tell me what's really going on." Rachel pulled her hand away and looked me dead in the eyes.

"Rach listen, I'm serious. I look a test yesterday and it was positive." I told her sternly.

Her eyes became wide "But, you're only thirteen.. you're going to be a mom?" She knew I was frightened.

I just shook my head yes. How was I going to tell my family? I was going to have a baby before I was old enough to even get my driver's license. Shit.

December 25th

Waking up on Christmas, I decided I wasn't going to tell my family my secret until after the holidays. Hearing a knock on the door, I headed to the living room.

"Hey, Merry Christmas!" I opened the door to my best friend.

"Merry Christmas! I'm here for the dinner." Rachel handed me her gift and made her way inside.

"Thanks for the gift, I'll put it under the tree. We're not allowed to open any until after we eat. Yours in also under there." I closed the door behind her.

"So have you told your family about ya know?" Rachel was handing her jacket on the rack.

"Rach, I told you I'm not saying anything yet. Please keep your voice down." I motioned for her to come to my room.

Over the next hour, family members were coming in from all over. Leaving Rachel in my room, I headed down to the kitchen. Grandma agreed I could make something for dinner.

Most adults were already sitting at the table, while the kids played in my sister's room. It was my job to help cook green beans. Taking the dish from the stove, I realized I had accidentally burnt it.

"Dang it! I burnt the food!" I was getting frustrated with myself.

"Honey, it's okay. Here let me help." My grandma made her way over from the table. She began to help me clean my mess up.

"I'm so sorry, I didn't mean to ruin dinner." I felt I had messed up enough already.

"It's not your fault. We're not mad at you, sweetheart." Grandma gave me a hug.

At that moment my best friend was coming into the kitchen.

"See, you told them about the baby and they still love you." Rachel sat at the table and smiled.

Oh at that moment, I wanted to tackle her. Looking over at her, my eyes grew wide.

"Baby?" Grandma looked puzzled.

"I'm not sure what she's talking about." I assured her.

"Oh um yeah, I saw something on one of our reality shows about a baby." Rachel was stumbling over her words.

"You tell me what's going on right now." My grandma demanded.

I knew there was no fighting it, so I told them all that I was pregnant. Everyone at the table had their mouths wide open.

"Pregnant at thirteen? I'm so glad it's not my daughter." Aunt L said like the snob she was.

"Is this any of your business?" My grandma looked at her.

"I'm just saying, my sweet Megan would never do something that stupid." She said with a smile.

"Shut up. None of us asked for your snobby opinion. So please sit your ass down."

Aunt L did not sit down she kept running her mouth. Grandma tried shutting her up, she grabbed her by her hair and shoved out of the front door. Aunt L did not leave, she hit grandma. They were both going at it, the whole family had to separate them.

After everything was said and done, we all headed back inside to continue our dinner. It was extremely awkward but I didn't say anything else. I accidentally ruined Christmas... Oops

pregnancy
Like

About the Creator

hayley

The skies are blue, haven't been for a while

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Mooreabout a year ago

    ...no, aunt L ruined Christmas!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.