Families logo

A Peacock’s Journey

How Fiskars helps create a Masterpiece!

By Tracy PhillipsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Hello. I was born today. Or, I was drawn today. The creator cut me up with Fiskars, orange scissors and then gave me a face. Right now, she calls me Jackie Paper. I’m the first peacock ever made by my creator. I don’t know what that means but I’m the only one created today that got my own name! Using Fiskars, she also cut out other things. She called them animals but they didn’t get a special name. I think she loves me best.

She traced me a bunch of times and it tickled! My friends told me that feathers tickle sometimes, I’ll have feathers so maybe I’m supposed to know what tickling feels like. Do you know why I’m here? I am not sure yet but it’s an exciting thing to ponder!

I am the most important peacock, and all the others are made from my shape. The creator, her name is Tracy, is about to give me a face, and some clothes. Since I am a peacock, I am told I am also proud. My feathers will get long and colorful and I will get to prance!

Tracy is going to put makeup on me. I have been told that if I ever want a mate, I need some color. I don’t know what a mate is but I sure want one! I am mostly blue and and green, but some peacocks have beautiful feathers that have no color. They are white and have red eyes. I would like to meet one someday. I would like to meet you too!

Tracy told me I’m beautiful. I know this means I can get a mate and, she changed my name. She told me I’m too “sophisticated” for Jackie and that I will be called Jackson now. I still don’t know why I’m in this world, or what sophisticated means, but I’m finding out soon! The final touch was Tracy putting a coat on me that makes me sparkle!

I just got attached to a partner. She is blue and has a mouth that opens and closes. Tracy says this is important for the job we have to do. Her name is Penny and she is very shy. She works hard and I love her already! We are great friends! I still am not sure why I am here, but I know I’m ready.

Using the Fiskars, a ribbon was cut and tied around Penny. The Fiskars pulled the ribbon through their blades and gave the ribbon a perm. She giggled when her hair got curled. She will be with us a little while but then will be taken off when Penny and I start working.

Today, I left Tracy. She told me to make her proud and that’s what I will do!! She attached me to a potato chip bag and gave me away. At first I was confused and sad to leave her. Then, the bag was opened and I could smell this wonderful aroma called BBQ. And you know what? They used Fiskars to open the bag. After a little while, the bag, still half way full, was rolled up and I discovered my destiny! I wonder if everyone has Fiskars? They make me feel happy because I see them so often, and they were my first friend!

It’s my job to protect the BBQ chips inside the bag! I don’t let bugs or water in and I keep only the air left inside the bag into the chips. Chips are fragile but Penny and I are strong and can keep the chips safe until they are let out again.

I am excited to see what the future holds. Once the chips are gone, I can be attached to almost anything! Pretzels, nachos, candy bags and many other things will be protected by me! While I am keeping things safe, I will look pretty! Some of my friends from the paper drawings are here too and we all work hard! I am proud!

I am as proud as a peacock!!

diy
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.