Families logo

A Little More about Pregnancy

What I'm learning from What to Expect when you're Expecting.

By Kaleb Haycraft-ThomsonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Little More about Pregnancy
Photo by Viviana Rishe on Unsplash

I am just under 20% done reading What to Expect when you’re Expecting. Let me just say as a transman it can be a little rough with just how gendered the book is, but it is fantastic information. The information about tests and what to eat are great, but I am at the part of the book where it is talking about the first month. And let me just say. The pregnancy glow is absolute bull.

First trimester is marked with morning sickness. The same as the potential for the third trimester when there is a lot going on and the baby is either kicking your bladder causing accidents at random or elbowing you in the kidney. But the first trimester is an interesting one. In the first month you could potentially have metal mouth. Imagine tasting pennies for no particular reason. Heck. Some pregnant individuals also go through pica. I have a cat with pica. He literally chews on EVERYTHING. But still I think I could get over that just having a strong flavored snack or some almond milk. I detest the tectureof cow milk by itself.

And according to the book and a little research you can drool like a mastiff. Mastiff’s are cute, but imagine cuddling your partner and suddenly a waterfall of drool rains down on the both of you. The last time I drooled on any one I was getting a tongue piercing. He got the needle through and suddenly a waterfall of drool rained down on his gloved hand. It was embarrassing.

Another reason that the pregnancy glow is bull is because some pregnant individuals experience blotchy skin or acne from the hormones. Which is fair. There is a lot going on and your body is going a little bonkers. It’s expected for it to react weird compared to what it usually is. I don’t know about you, but I particularly get embarrassed if I have blemishes going on. I had annoying acne the whole time that I’ve been on testosterone.

Still, it wouldn’t stop me. But there are medical problems to be concerned with for my pregnancy. I have fibromyalgia. And they do not make medications that can combat nerve problems that are pregnancy safe. Which means I will have to just take it day by day and hope that I can mentally, emotionally, and physically handle it. That is a lot on my plate because there are very few people that able to manage fibromyalgia without medications of some kind.

For me it is something daunting that I will have to overcome. My husband and my brother that lives with us understand that it might become too much for me at times as when I have my flare ups it is almost impossible to walk and at times I need help simply waddling from point A to point B. Imagine the embarrassment of having to ask for help just to get out of the bedroom door and around the corner. But still. I want to start a family with my husband and I am perfectly okay with what may come even if it leads to bed rest earlier on in pregnancy than expected.

lgbtq
Like

About the Creator

Kaleb Haycraft-Thomson

Transgender man. Animal lover. Activist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.