Families logo

A letter to my parents

A letter of thanks

By Qianhua ZhouPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Dear parents:

I have left you for about two weeks. I miss both of you very much and I guess you have the same emotion. It is the first time for me to leave you for such a long time, so I know you must worry about me. To be honest, after I burnt the dish again, I think it is necessary for you to worry.

The reason why I am writing this letter to you is to tell you how I feel after coming to America for a few weeks.

First of all, I want to thank both of you for taking good care of me over the years. After I started to live independently in America, I began to notice that you must be very tired every day when I stayed at home. After living in America, I find that you've done a lot of things for me before. For example, I did not need to cook on my own and could enjoy tasty food, which was made by you, but I never thanked you. I am not afraid of you laughing at me because I often get stuffed because I often cook too much unintentionally. Without you, at first, I felt nervous, but now I think I make big progress in terms of housework.

Secondly, I want to thank you for supporting me to study in America. I know you are not very rich, but you are still willing to send me to study in America, which can motivate me to study. The teachers at this university are very kind and they are willing to help students. Although it is hard for me to study my major now, I believe if I work hard, I can be better.

I also want to talk about the influence of you. Because of you, I would not give up easily when I meet some problems in my life. Dad, my mom and cousin told me stories about your studies. I admire you very much and also want to follow your steps. Although your study surrounding was not good, but you entered the university finally. You even worked in the fields and helped your family share the housework after you finished one of the college entrance examinations. When you were preparing for the master's degree at the age of 30, you were very disciplined every day because you wanted to change the job which you did not like. Mom, I also admire you! After you left your hometown and found a new job, you had to study gynecology when you were 30, reversing the study of internal medicine. You often stayed up late to read the textbook, which was about gynecology, after finishing all the housework. Every time when I feel discouraged, I will follow your example and continue to work hard.

Because of you, I know the meaning of equality. I need to respect everyone. You always tell me that you are my honest friends, and we are equal. I do think so. You taught me to do housework to reduce the burden of parents because parents also do too many things for me. Because we are equal, I need to do something for you too. At first, when I was younger, I did not understand why you scold me after finding I did not wash the dishes, but now I understand. We are a family, and as a member of the family, we need to contribute to the family, so that the family can last.

In the end, I still want to tell you that I miss you so much, and I want to see you as soon as possible, although I know it is impossible. I will study hard in America and I hope I will not disappoint both of you. I love both of you, forever.

Best wishes to you!

Yours sincerely

Qianhua

parents
1

About the Creator

Qianhua Zhou

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.