Families logo

A Letter to My Parents

Dear Mom and Dad

By Hannah TaylorPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo Taken by Heather Luther Photography

I don't know what I would do without the love you have both showered me with throughout the years. You have been understanding, firm, sensitive, and supportive from the very beginning, always pushing me towards my dreams. I am lucky. I have been provided with such wonderful opportunities and you've given me such a pleasant childhood to recollect. You have both been role models for all four of us children and it is because of you that we are all on such amazing paths in life. I know this may seem cliché, but I consider you both to be two of my closest friends due to the fact that I can tell you anything and everything.

Mom, you are an extraordinary woman with many passions and talents that you show on a daily basis. You wear your heart on your sleeve without a second thought and show those around you just how much they mean to you. One of my fondest memories growing up was when you would help us get ready for school on a cold morning, and you would go out of your way to warm up the legs of our pants and sleeves of our shirts by holding them up to the heater before handing them off for us to put on. I can only hope to one day become half of the mother that you are to all of us children. You are so kind and compassionate with everyone you encounter in your life and you have provided me with such an excellent example to work towards, and because of that I know I will go far.

Dad, it is hard to put into words exactly how much you inspire me on a daily basis but I am going to give it a try. For starters, you are always there to help with any problem and/or any random thought that makes my mind run out of control. When I need advice in regards to anything work related you are the first person that I run to because you always calm my nerves and remind me that I am a Taylor. I miss the days of camping, fishing, playing catch, and sitting around a toasty warm fire on the wooden benches you built. The ones that sat just under the tree I used to climb all the way to the top and marvel at how big the world was. I long for the days of road trips with those silly songs that would drive you crazy, but you put up with it because it made everyone happy. You are my hero, cape and all, and that will never change.

There is no way that I could possibly thank the two of you for everything you have done for me through the years, whether that is helping me through an emotional time, pushing me towards something I love, or even just helping me pursue something new. You have both had such an impact on the person I am becoming, and for that, I am beyond grateful. I know I may not have been the easiest of us children for you to parent, but you two always reminded me just how much I was valued and loved. It is because of you that I know I will go far in anything that I fight for and feel passionate about. It is because of the support you have both showed me that I began to pursue writing in the first place, and I am better for it. You always know the right things to say and the right things to do in order to help guide us all towards the paths meant for us. I am so beyond lucky to have been blessed with the two of you as my parents.

I love you more.

Your Daughter

parents
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Taylor

Freelance Writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.