Families logo

A Grieving Mother Receives Comfort from Her Child through a Perfect Stranger's Song

“There is no death. Only a change of worlds.” ~ Chief Seattle

By Debbie CentenoPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Photo by Jarl Schmidt on Unsplash

A Heart-Warming Story

Today I read the most heart-warming story ever. It teared me up. I use the Nextdoor app within my neighborhood. A woman, which I'll call Ann, who lives in a surrounding neighborhood, was writing to express her thanks to a stranger. She did not know him, but his interaction with her caused a great impact.

A Mother's Nightmare

This month Ann experienced the worst nightmare a mother can go through. Her 19-year-old son died on February 3, 2021. I don't know the details of his death, but it is not relevant in this story. Ann was driving back from picking up her son's urn and ashes and stopped at the neighborhood supermarket for some groceries.

An Angel Among the Strangers

As she waited her turn at the deli counter, a kind gentleman who I'll call Elvis and was also waiting his turn complimented her tattoo. He had a tattoo as well, an Elvis tattoo. They began to chit-chat while waiting, even though her mind was elsewhere. She could not fully describe him because of his mask. From what they spoke, she thought he might have been an Elvis impersonator when he was younger.

"When I had hair," she recalls him saying. Then he sang a part of the Elvis song "Love Me Tender" to her.

Love me tender, love me sweet.

Never let me go. 

You have made my life complete

and I love you so.

A Message from Heaven

The lyrics Elvis sang tucked at her heart and emotions. She felt as if her son was singing the song to her. As if he was telling his mom to always hold him close. Even though it made Ann emotional, it gave her a sense of peace and joy on that day and for the days to follow. Little does the stranger, Elvis, know what he did for Ann. He did not know how she was feeling, or that she was grieving the loss of her son, and how much comfort he brought to her. Therefore, Ann took her story to Nextdoor to thank him.

I Can Relate

I don't know Ann or Elvis, but this story touched me because, I too, am a grieving mother. My son was 20 years old when he died. I know the feeling of receiving a message from a stranger or someone known to me and sensing it came from my son. For me, it is a sign that Infinite Spirit (God) is always there for us and will always provide us comfort because the spirit never dies. Infinite Spirit sends his angels to comfort us either through someone we know, a sign, song, or a stranger.

To the Stranger

I pray for God's blessing for this stranger so he can continue to spread his love and healing through his music. Sending healing love and light to Ann and Elvis.

---

Originally published at https://debbiesreflection.com on February 17, 2021.

grief
Like

About the Creator

Debbie Centeno

Debbie is an active spiritualist and medium. Yoga and meditation are part of her daily routines. She loves to travel and enjoys writing. Her blogs are Debbie’s Reflection (www.debbiesreflection.com) and Traveler Wows (www.travelerwows.com).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.