Families logo

A gift from Mom

Lessons that last a lifetime

By Paul whiddon Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
A gift from Mom
Photo by Katie Smith on Unsplash

A mothers love can be one of the most amazing gifts any of us ever receive. The gifts and lessons that they teach us will take you farther in life than you could ever realize. Most of the things I have learned over the years and the memories my mom and I have made have taken place in the kitchen (even though the kitchen was barely big enough for us both to use at the same time.) As well as some of my most important lessons in life.

My passion for food goes back as long as I have been eating, at least; for me, and I would assume anyone who had home cooked meals from there mom growing up. No matter how talented the chef is, it is hard to find cooking that compares to moms. For me growing up, the only thing better than moms cooking was her teaching me how to cook. As a child, teenager and young man there wasn’t much that compared to the time spent in the kitchen with mom. Everything from the preparation to sitting around the table reaping the benefits of our hard work. Usually including all of my brother and my friends everyone loved eating at our house growing up.

Mom started teaching me to cook at a young age. Starting small with helping mix cake batter or making no bake cookies. When I was in about the 6th or 7th grade she got me my first cook books. I remember it like yesterday, my mom helping me cook my first full meal Rosemary rotisserie chicken. A recipe I had found in my Betty Crocker new junior cookbook. We also made corn, green beans and rolls. It was absolutely amazing, and the most memorable meal I have ever cooked. It wasn’t because it was some big glamorous gourmet meal unlike any other. At the end of the day it was just good chicken. What made it so memorable was the fun mom and I had cooking it. Not to mention it was the first meal that she let me take most of the control over preparing.

The next several years my mom and I spent countless hours in the kitchen. Trying several different recipes (that dad would actually agree to eat.) Some of our best and deepest conversations took place over mixing bowls and a 400 degree oven. I even got to the point by high school to where if mom had to work late I could have dinner ready when she got home from work. I remember specifically one night I found out my mom had to stay late at work. My brother and I growing hungry, I decided to get in the kitchen, and start cooking. My mom arrived home unsuspecting to find dinner ready and my brother and me piling our plates with; Fried chicken, mashed potatoes, green beans and garlic bread. She loved the surprise, however slightly upset that I was cooking with out her knowing about it. Still impressed that I had cooked the whole meal by myself.

Now that I am grown with a family of my own. It is now my house that everyone comes to for a good home cooked meal. To make memories, spend quality time together, and enjoy some good food. Cooking is now one of my greatest passions, and I eagerly look for opportunities to have friends and family over to show of the cooking skills that mom taught me. I cannot wait to start passing down the knowledge of cooking I got from my mom to my own children. As my mom had done for me.

I continuously try to improve my cooking skills, and always look for new recipes to try. The ability to cook has been one of the greatest gifts I have ever received. I owe all of my talents in the kitchen to the time spent in the kitchen with my mom. All of the other lessons that came along with this time is just an added bonus. My mothers help, advice, and patience in her teachings have made me the man I am today (and the chef I am today). It is for these lessons in life, relationships, and of course cooking that make my mom an absolute boss mom.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Paul whiddon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.