Families logo

A Friendly Visit

The Uplifting Visit of a Friend.

By Rachael OpawolePublished 10 months ago 3 min read
2
A Friendly Visit
Photo by Karsten Winegeart on Unsplash

I stopped what I was doing and turned to look at the approaching figure when a familiar voice cried out to me from the dusty road. My friend signaled for me to take a break as he slowed down on his trusty horse. I responded to his call with warmth in my heart, leaving the wild hills and half-hoed fields behind.

I said to myself, "I don't have time to stand still and look at all the unfinished tasks." "Any unfinished work is worthless compared to this moment with my friend."

I put my tools aside and walked eagerly but deliberately toward the wayside. The look on my friend's face as I got closer was a sign of solace and support. His eyes were glistening with stories he wanted to tell as we greeted each other.

I stressed the value of cherishing this relationship by saying, "There's a time for everything, and now is the time to talk." I made sure he knew he had my complete attention and had no intention of ignoring him.

While talking, I observed my hoe resting next to the stone wall with its blade end facing upward like a sentry watching over the fields. Its five-foot height appeared to represent the load of undone work, but at this very moment, I felt no weight.

Sometimes we need to let go of our worries and accept life's spontaneity. The peaceful ground beneath my feet was hiding stories that were just waiting to be discovered. With each step, I put the day's responsibilities behind me and focused on the here and now, relishing the pleasure of a pleasant visit.

Old memories emerged as we strolled along the winding road like blossoming flowers in a spring garden. Time appeared to slow down as laughter filled the room and everyone seemed to be appreciating the beauty of friendship. The stone wall greeted us and stood steadfast throughout the ages like a venerable protector.

We carried on our conversation while leaning against the cool, worn stones, talking about our goals and objectives as well as the everyday pleasures of life. As our souls bonded more deeply, the world around us faded into the background.

These little moments of sincere human connection are precious pearls that should be kept and fostered in a world that is continuously moving at a rapid pace. As we shared tales and the weight of our problems, the stresses of daily life appeared to fade away.

Sometimes the pull of achievement and productivity can make us lose sight of what really matters in life: relationships. The hills and the fields may beckon with their wild beauty and demand my attention, but those things can wait. I was grateful for every second I had with my friend right now since his presence was a gift.

We knew it was time to say goodbye as the sun started its gradual drop, coloring the sky with pink and orange hues. However, the memories we made during this little break would endure, permanently inked into the fabric of our hearts.

Even though my hoe was still standing tall and waiting patiently for me to return to the fields, it was no longer a burden. As a reminder that although there will always be work to be done, there will also be times for relaxation and connection, it stood for the continuity of life.

I said goodbye to my friend and left, confident that the soft ground and the stone wall would protect my tales until our next mutually beneficial encounter. I carried with me the gift of a revived spirit, a heart overflowing with thanks, and a renewed appreciation of the beauty that lies in the straightforward act of pausing to listen and share a moment with a friend as I made my way back to the waiting fields.

immediate familyextended family
2

About the Creator

Rachael Opawole

I am an exceptional storyteller and content creator, imaginative narratives. From a young age, I demonstrated a natural talent for crafting compelling stories and have since honed my skills across various mediums.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Bee O10 months ago

    Lovely

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.